Brussels Sprouts and Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
What a wonderful soup! So fresh and it had a wonderful flavor. I have tried a lot of soups from this site and this one was very impressive and one I will make over and over again. I do think the flour/butter ratio is a bit off so you might want to use less flour or add more butter. Excellent soup! Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This Soup was absoutely delicious! My son cooked it and halfed the recipe. Also we added kale and omited the barley. It was a Hugh hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I love, love, love this soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This is an excellent fall soup and one that used up all the vegies in the garden. I too switched kale for barley and added fresh chopped garlic. YUM-O!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Great soup! I used frozen mixed vegetables in place of the turnips, carrots, and green beans because I didn't have time to run to the store. I replaced some of the salt with salt-free herb seasoning to reduce the sodium a bit, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Just made this and it is terrific. I did add about 6 cloves of garlic with the first batch of veg. At the end I stirred in about a tsp or so of smoked paprika, a squirt of fresh lemon juice and some parsley. Excellent soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbarnett

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Girard, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Thank you! Amazing soup! I made it today and my husband and I are eating it up with a loaf of Olive Bread! I changed one thing- I added about 6 cloves of garlic, finely chopped for a boost! We love garlic! The soup is a dream! I cant wait to make it for my family one day. Deeeeliciousness! Im a huge fan of Brussel Sprouts and they are in season RIGHT NOW! Thank you so much! YUMMINESS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuliaGulia
Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
So many of my favorite veggies & nutrient super stars are in this soup! I figured it would be tasty. However, the sodium content is alarming: over 1,100 miligrams per serving!!! Not cool! So I altered the cooking method to bring out more flavor sans sodium. I used frozen turnips with greens & added celery. I sauted onion, celery, carrots, and a bay leaf in a tsp of oil. Then added the other veggies and about 3 Tbls of roughly chopped garlic. Sauted a about 10 min. Then added 12 cups of water and 4 Tbls of Better than Boullion (which brought the sodium to over 2,400 miligrams for the whole pot, or 240 per serving). I cooked the barley on the side to save time and skipped the flour/butter to save calories and because I prefer a brothy soup. Hearty, filling, and, with a few modifications, healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Hmm, so this is a LOT of soup. I made a half batch and we had it for dinner last night and are having it for dinner tonight. And we will STILL have lots of it leftover. So . . .just an FYI. If you want to try a little, perhaps you would want to quarter it. It's not bad, actually, and certainly full of veggies, which is what we're going for right now. But I have to say that I don't really like brussel sprouts, and this soup isn't going to change my mind about that. Happily, they are easy to pick out if you decide you don't like them but have someone else in the house who does like them (bf) and they don't make the soup taste like cabbage or anything (I don't like cabbage, so that would be a downer for me). I made this in the crock pot, and it was done after 4 hours on high, which is exciting bc you could probably let this cook on low while you are at work all day. (Well, that's exciting to me anyway). It didn't really thicken up much with the crockpot, though, so keep that in mind if you like thick soups--if you do, you are better off sticking to the recipe. All in all, a nice fall/winter soup chock full of veggies and easily adjusted to taste. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
A really tasty winter-y soup! I infused the butter with sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States