Bruschetta with Shallots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Delicious! However, the second time I made them, I prepared the mixture the night before so the flavors could develop, and it was twice as good. This will be one of my favorites in the future. Thank you, Doreen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
This recipes is wonderful, served it as an appetizer for New Years Eve. I thought it was a little bland. I added 2-3 tablespoons of balsalmic vinegar to the tomato basil mixture. Then after the bread was toasted and the tomato mixture was on the bread, I sprinkled shredded provolone cheese on top and put it back in the oven until the cheese was slightly melted. This disapeared as soon as we got it out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valley Grove, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
This made a beautiful presentation! Basil and tomatoes fresh from my father's garden, along with the toasted bread. There was a little left over, and the next day it smelled and tasted even more wonderful than it did the night before! The basil was a little wilted the next day, though, so next time I'll mix everything together but the basil the night before, and then cut and add the basil just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
what an elegant rendition for bruschetta! Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I took the advise of a previous reviewer and made this the night before let the flavors blend. I did not add the basil until about an hour before I wasa going to serve this. I also let the chopped tomato sit in a strainer for quite a while to drain well. Our guests raved about this bruschetta! Thanks Doreen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This was delicious, but we all adore bruschetta anyway! I didn't use the specified amount of oil for the tomato mixture, I just drizzled and tossed until combined...maybe only 1-2 tablespoons...and it was plenty. I did away with the step of warming the oil and garlic. I have always made my bruschetta by just brushing the slices with olive oil and then rubbing a crushed garlic clove across the top. I put the toasts on a platter and let everyone spoon the tomato topping on top so the bread wouldn't get soggy. Someone at the table (not me!) had about 8 slices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Great recipe! I have picky tomato eaters so I used only 4 romas. The garlic, shallot and basil was more pronounced this way. I cut down on some of fat by doing bread differently. I cut a garlic clove in half and rubbed it on the both sided of bread then toasted on my G. Foreman grill. I added shredded parmesan to top for a garnish. It was a big hit with my family! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
This is a FABULOUS and easy recipe! I have e-mailed it to many of my friends who raved about it at a party. A definite must have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I made this to take to a dinner and it was a bit hit. Everyone kept complimenting me on it. I actually made it the night before and so it could rest for a while. This will be my go-to bruschetta recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swidgen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
Absolutely without a doubt the best bruschetta we've ever had - thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Balsamic Bruschetta

See how to make a simple fresh tomato appetizer with a little balsamic kick.

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States