Bruschetta I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
I lived in Italy for 4 months and this is closer to a true bruschetta (pronounced broo-sket-ta). Rubbing the garlic directly on the bread may make it strong -- but it IS the authentic method -- it's how they did it while I was in Italy. One good suggestion is to drizzle olive oil over the top of the tomatoes. FRESH basil is NECESSARY for this recipe!! Great, Authentic Recipe!! deb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
I absolutely love bruschetta, and this recipe is authentic and very close to the recipe that I use, so I'm reviewing this one to put in a good word for it. The only things that I do differently are to brush the bread with a little olive oil before toasting, and to leave out the onion and instead add shredded mozzerella cheese to the mixture. Cooks, be sure to use Roma plum tomatoes; it's the only way to make bruschetta. I'd also caution people to be careful not to rub too much garlic on the bread; it will overpower the tomato mixture and ruin the recipe! Which would be really, really tragic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckerkorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
This was a good recipe. I made some modifications: use dried Italian seasoning instead of the fresh, added a splash of balsamic vinegar and added some salt and crushed red pepper. The basic recipe just seems way too bland. Even with these modifications, I would probably make it stronger tasting next time. Overall, this is a great recipe...just needs some spicing up. Would definitely make it again. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
I use less onion add minced garlic to the bruschetta instead of rubbing it on the bread. Using dried basil works fine. I always add some salt to taste. For an extra treat, serve on top of homemade garlic bread or top with a little feta cheese or mozerella. Mmmmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2001
What a wonderful recipe. Everyone loved it but had to keep a few pieces aside without the garlic. The children found them hot. I served them at a party where I had a basket of the prepared baguettes and people spooned them on themselves. Worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
I substituted a sweet onion for a red onion, and instead of fresh basil i used dried basil. I thought it was better using those, but i shared it with a class of grade 8's and about 93% loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
Very easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLIVER00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
Also good with a little bit of rosemary for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
I have never had this before. My husband had and he said that it was great, HE loved it. It was so much fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
quick and easy! I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Balsamic Bruschetta

See how to make a simple fresh tomato appetizer with a little balsamic kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States