Bruschetta al Pomodoro Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
Fabulous!! Because there is a lot of chopping...(and I double the recipe)..i make the topping a day ahead. The flavors really combine together. I also added a splash of balsamic vinegar and added a little fine chopped red onion. I don't put them back under the broiler to heat, serve it cold. My family and company raves about this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
My husband and I went to Italy for our honeymoon. Bruschetta was one of our favorite appetizers. One thing that I would omit doing is broiling the tomatoes once on the bread. I like the tomatoes uncooked, the way we had it in Italy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2001
This was good, however we added a lot more garlic to it to give it a little bit more flavor. We also brushed one side of the bread with olive oil before baking. Balsamic vinegar also seemed to bring out more of the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2001
Extremely easy to make and tates impressive. Since I wanted my tomatoes room temperature, I toasted the bread in the toaster oven and omitted the broiler entirely. Try this with a hearty red wine-- excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
This was very easy. I added some balsalmic vinegar to bring some more flavor to it. My first attempt did end with burnt bread because I had it too close to the broiler - so be careful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2000
A delicious recipe-tastes just like it does in Italy. Remember to move your oven rack to the furthest level away from the heat when you broil it though, or it will burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I don't even have to try this recipe because it is exactly how I make mine. Poeple tell me it ROCKS. For the bread part though, I cut french bread thin and brush both sides with olive oil and broil it. You have to watch it closely as it will get brown too fast.Turn the bread over and brown the other side as well. The bread can sit overnight in a closed bag if you have to let it wait. It will stay nice and crunchy. After you spoon the tomato on top of the pieces of bread, we don't broil it but if you do you can also sprinkle a few shreds of mozzerella cheese and melt it. It really does ROCK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAZZBERY1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2001
Extremely good. Took awhile to prepare, but it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2001
This is an excellent appetizer for an Italian or Mediterranean dish. My family loves it. It's fresh and healthy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Awesome!!!! this is soooooo yummy. I ate this like 10 min ago and am planning to make it tomorrow again. I gave the toasted bread a rub with one of the garlic cloves, then minced it and added it to the tomato mixture. Oh, i also added fresh oregano from our garden!! The taste is amazing, the toasted bread, fresh tomatoes and garlic combine to perfection.... THANX FOR THIS RECIPE!!!! Ada, you're an artist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Pasta Pomodoro

See how to make a simple, flavorful fresh tomato sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States