Brunswick Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I added smoked sausage to the recipe and it turned out irresistible good !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I added a can of chicken broth, a can of tomato soup, and a can of cream corn. I also had 4 lbs of chicken to thickened it up. It tasted almost exactly like what I remember it tasting like growing up in VA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This was very flavorful but I did have to add a can of tomato sauce and more seasonings. I love the mix of 2 meats. In my family recipe we only use shredded chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I subbed bacon for the salt pork and used boneless, skinless chicken thighs and breast meat. While this did not taste like the Southern Brunswick Stew I'm used to, it did taste like a chicken vegetable soup. Not bad, but not something I will fix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
i left off one of the onions and added 1 and 1/2 can tomato paste to this and it was the best brunswick stew i have had in a while thanks rene for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This is a good recipe, but the Brunswick Stew that my Virginia grandmother made was sweet. This is the same basic recipe as the one she used, but if you want it to be authentic in flavor, try adding a tablespoon or two of sugar. With buttermilk bisquits and sliced vinegar cucumbers, you will have as authentic a Virginia supper as you could ever hope for. Oh! And don't forget the sweet tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Wonderful!! Tastes just like the recipe they serve in Colonial Williamsburg! Be careful though, this recipe makes a lot. Next time I'll adjust the recipe to make 8 servings for now I will freeze the leftovers. Otherwise, I used leftover roast chicken, replaced the potatoes with a cup of uncooked rice stirred in during the last 30 min of cooking and left out the lima beans (its a texture thing). All modifications were minor preferences otherwise I stayed true to the stew which was delish!! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Munderwho

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
If you are looking for a southern style Brunswick stew, you will be highly disappointed. If you follow the receipe without doctoring, you get a stew that is the same color as chicken and rice soup and a taste that is just very plain. Doctored it up by adding pork tenderloin, BBQ sauce, Frank's Hot Sauce, tomato puree, a can of tomato soup and several other spices becasue it was very bland and just the wrong color. I would call this a northerner's interpretation of a deeply southern dish. Get a different recipe if you are looking for a Brunswick stew similar to those served in southern BBQ joints
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Lots of room to personalize. I used crumbled chirizo instead of salt pork and added okra to the veggie mix. I used "planned over" chicken breast which I added at the last minute just to warm through. Served with hot biscuits...GREAT easy, autumn dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dalton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wall Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Very good, Didn't have salt pork and it was still good. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States