Brunch Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I served this for News Years day brunch. I added dried cranberries and orange zest. I served with clotted cream and jam. They were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rushville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Excellent recipe!! I have made this over and over again. Easily made with everyday items. I have made them with frozen blueberries, lemon and poppyseeds and even with Splenda. They come out perfect everytime. Don't waste time rolling them out, just pat into a thick circle and cut into 8 wedges. Top with sugar, bake and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I love this recipe. It was so easy and they are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Presque Isle, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Lovley recipe. I had tea with mine in the morning, and it made a great breaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
I added a little less sugar, 4 Tbsp instead of 5. And with no milk on hand, I used non fat yogurt diluted with a touch of water. And yes the waiting time is essential. Wonderful texture. I've tried tons of scone recipes and this is by far my favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elle17

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I love this recipe! I've made it again and again. These scones are the real deal, not muffins in disguise. The flavor and texture are just right. To make it slightly easier, I just pat the dough into a large circle and divide it into eight triangles. Then I sprinkle with sugar rather than doing the egg wash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
Delicious. I rolled the dough into a 6 inch log, and rolled it in about 1 tbsp white sugar. I then cut it into slices and set them on a baking sheets. I didn't brush them with the yolk... It was delicious. I froze the leftovers, and reheated them in the microwave for about 30 sec. They were still great. Thanks! UPDATE: Do NOT forget to let them stand 15 mn. I forgot the second time I made them, and they turned out pretty bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XVELVETX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Good texture, with just enough sugar. My family absolutely loved these scones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
These were delicious. I made them twice and the second time I threw in half a handful of chocolate chips. Wonderful. Thanks, Bianca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CafeAmericano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Batesville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
This dough was extremely sticky to work with. I made the recipe exactly as the directions state. They looked beautiful but they did not taste that great. My husband said, "You can throw out this recipe" so I guess I will not be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States