Brunch Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Love this. Easy to make. I added craisins and walnuts and saved them for commuter breakfast all week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This is an awesome recipe, but being diabetic I had to alter it a bit, otherwise it would have been given 5 stars. I used whole wheat flour instead, doubled the baking powder becuz of using whole wheat flour, took the sugar out completely, didn't use the egg on top but put butter on the tops when they came out of the oven and added a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, might even use a full tsp next time and used raising instead of currants. Everyone loved these. My younger cousin and kids are going to make these next time with chocolate chips instead. Not a healthy substitute, but they are at least eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Awesome scones! Swapped out the whole milk for nonfat vanilla yogurt plus some lemon juice, and used frozen blueberries instead of currants. Just make sure to mix the dough thoroughly before adding the berries so that they don't burst (different timing than with currants).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I am eating one of these fresh out of the oven as we speak! This was my first time actually making scones, although I have eaten plenty in my lifetime. Very easy to prepare, except for dealing with the sticky dough/batter. It's much easier to just form the scones by hand then to try and roll it out and then cut. I only gave this recipe four stars because I tend to like scones slightly more dense while still being moist, but that is just my preference. If you are looking for a scone that is light and moist then this is the recipe for you. One change that I did make was that I used frozen blueberries and lemon zest instead of the currants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I have never made scones before, but these turned out really well. I halved the recipe and instead of currants I used 1/3 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips. Turned out soft and delicious. This would go perfectly with tea or coffee. I'm thinking the next time I'm going to try squeezing a little orange juice into the batter (decreasing the milk by that amount), adding some orange zest and craisins instead of the chocolate chips or currants. I will be making this again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Very tasty, but the batter was a little too moist, which resulted in scones that were rather airy. I prefer a slightly denser scone, so I will use 2 c flour and perhaps 1/2 tsp less baking powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
very delicious! i will add a bit of orange rind next time as i really like those flavors together, or use blueberries. thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLB02

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Delish! Very easy to add in whatever Sweet/savory items!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger
Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I made these to take to my office with my home-made jams. What a hit! I doubled the recipe and made them a bit thinner, I got about 2 dozen. Next time, I'll try some dried cranberries and grated orange peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States