Brunch Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
These scones were one of the best I've eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I thought these were very good, but I will add more Splenda next time. I made the following adjustments to this recipe. I used 1 cup flour, and 3/4 cup whole wheat flour, added 1 whole egg, added 6 packets of Splenda, and used 1 cup of dried cranberries unstead of currants...(don't even know what a currant is) LOL... Scones are usually not sweet enough for me so that's why I added the Splenda. Also, I suggest not preheating the oven until you have the scones on the baking sheet. They have to rest for 15 minutes there so no need for the oven to be on that extra time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
My husband loved these! I am a big scone fan and these were easy and delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Great recipe! It was quite easy to make. I used skim milk, but still had beautiful scones. Also used raisins in place of currants. After making the dough, I realized I was out of eggs! I used instead 1 Tablespoon of melted butter, 1 teaspoon each of cinnamon and sugar, and brushed the top before letting sit. They were wonderful, light, and very tasty. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Laughlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
My family loves it, we eat them choc chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Virtuous Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
My mom made scones just about every Sun when I was a kid. These taste exactly the same. Crumbly and just a tad sweet. They are killer hot from the oven with a nice slather of butter on them. This is a keeper. Thanks for the recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine R.
Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Great scones! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
These scones just didn't do it for me. I added blueberries and sprinkled the tops with sugar, but they just weren't sweet enough for my tastes. I might also add that they were not the dense and flaky texture I look for in a scone, but were soft and fluffy like muffin tops. I would consider using these with ham and cheese for a savory brunch item, but never again with fruit. Probably just never again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This is so good. Just a little adjustment, I added a 2tbsp of plain yogurt, 1tbsp lemon juice and 2tbsp pineapple juice to the milk. The scones turns out moist and smells so tropical....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I substituted 3/4 c. of blackberries for the currents and increased the flour by 1/4 c. I omitted the egg yolk and sprinkled the tops of the scones with sugar instead. The dough was definitely messy to work with, even after adding the additional flour. I think I'll try a different scone recipe the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States