Brunch Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
The best thus far of the scone recipies that I have tried! I doubled the butter, as suggested by another rater, went ahead and added a quater of a cup of flour to make 2 cups of flour. I added one teaspoon on almond extract and drizzled honey on top of them before baking. OH HOW DIVINE they came out! The honey crusted the tops and added a little more sweetness to them. The scones are light and fluffy and are divine when dipped in coffee!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
Good and easy. Used blackberries so I doubled the fruit-just the right amount, and they are of perfect sweetness. Oh and used cream vs. whole milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
These were great. I substituted fresh cranberries for the currants. And unfortunately ate 3 myself! I did add just slightly extra flour. But loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
These are easy and delicious. The only change I made was using cream instead of whole milk - it's probably why I'm such a big fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
These were great and very easy. Light and fluffy. These are like english scones which I prefer. I found that they were very easy to roll out--not too sticky. Perfect for a light, simple breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PENNYTOMLINSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
I found the mix to be exceedingly gooey, far too sticky to either roll or shape and had to add extra flour just to enable this. I now notice an earlier reviewer mentioned when they doubled the recipe they did not have to double the milk...I would have reduced the amount of milk used had I read that before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
This recipe is absolutely perfect if you double the amount of butter. Everyone goes crazy when I make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
I found the temperature of the oven to be too hot. I didn't use currants or the egg yolk. I used 3 tbsp honey instead of sugar and used buttermilk with grated lemon rind. They turned out tasty and will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
Fantastic recipe - lightly sweetened and feather light! Used it at our B & B to raves from all. I reduced the sugar in the scones to 2 tbsp and mix the remainder 2 tbsp sugar with 1/2 tsp cinnamon and sprinkled on scone tops. I patted the dough and scored into 8 wedges instead of rolling it and cutting them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
Lovely,light,luscious scones! If you prefer scones that do not have a touch of sweetness, use a bit less sugar. I used vanilla flavored soymilk instead of regular milk. My own personal preference is to omit the egg wash. I also did not roll the dough (too sticky) put patted it out on a floured surface then cut into pie shaped wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States