Brunch Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
they turned out amazing..i had no milk, so i used a mixture of evaporated milk with water...they were yummy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
added 1 cup of chopped bosc pears and 1/2 cup craisins. skipped currants. did not knead but stirred to moisten and then baked it in a 9-inch round cake pan. made a lovely tea cake to go with coffee or tea. versatile as either a scone recipe with added flour kneaded in or a fruity tea cake baked without kneading in extra flour. will make this recipe again for a tea cake. thank you for a versatile recipe. can add chopped apples and cinnamon or any combination of fresh and dried fruit. prefer it as a tea cake to the usual scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecile Lin
Living In: Pearl River, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I must have done something wrong... the dough was so wet I could not cut it with a pastry cutter. I added more flour and then dropped them by heaping TB onto my stoneware. they were still moist and yummy. I doubled the recipe and used some whole wheat flour as well. I must have done something wrong w/the doubling b/c all of the reviews sound like it's an easy, no fuss recipe. Nonetheless, they were a HIT! I'll make them again and pay more attention next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Did i do something wrong? The dough was really gooy and that was using 2 cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
i gave this a five for ease of the recipe, mine didnt rise very nicely, but it was probably something i did wrong, , I added chocolate chips and topped with a quick peanut butter icing and they were a hit with my family, I'll make them again with various add ins :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
If you have one ounce of British Isles blood in your body, You'll get a warm fuzzy feeling with tea and scones at about 10:00 AM and at 4:00 PM! These are as closest to authentic Irish Scones as you can get on this side of the pond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
these were nice baking powder biscuits, but tasted nothing like a real scone, nice texture, rose nice, but bland in flavor. I will go back to my uk recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Perfect for a novice baker like myself. We substituted butter-flavored shortening (no butter in the house), chocolate chips (my love's favorite scone) and honey on top. Moist, flakey, delicious. Going to make strawberry next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
really good scones. not quite as flaky as i expected but yummy nonetheless. i added 1tsp cinnamon and left the currents and yolk topping out. will definitely make these ones again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Amazing!!! i substituted a half cup of rolled oats in place of the last half cup of flower to add a bit of texture. also sprinkled a bit of sugar on top of the egg yolk glaze. these were a huge hit, definitely to be repeated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States