Brunch Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I changed this recipe to accomodate my daughters milk allergy. Made it with dairyfree margarine (ice cold) and vanilla rice milk. It was delicious and moist. This is the second time I'm making it, we can't get enough. This time I made it with craisins, last time with raisins. Very easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
These were very good, light and fluffy. I made one version with cinnamon chips and one version with chocolate chips and cranberries. I used gluten free flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Followed recipe as written but thought they needed a bit more sugar. I will probably keep looking as these just weren't what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
An easy and delicious recipe. Scones can tend to be dense, but these are light and fluffy. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jackson Heights, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
These are my go to breakfast scones for company. Serve them warm with good jam or preserves, add a bowl of fresh, cut-up fruit and you have a great light breakfast in no time. I also add a little vanilla extract and whatever dried fruit I have on hand to the original recipe. I have used skim, whole and 2% milk as well as 35% cream, sour cream and even greek yogurt and these scones always turn out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Great scones, light, fluffy easy to make. I did sub a few things; used low fat milk, Stevia and omitted the egg wash. Best scones I ever made and I'm from UK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Wonderful scone recipe - I froze the butter and then grated it into the dry ingredients. I also added a tsp. of vanilla and an additional Tbsp. of sugar, as I love a sweet scone. I used half and half instead of milk and after the egg wash topped them off with turbinado sugar for that extra added crunch. These are delicious with currants or raisins and a wonderful base for add-in's like dried cranberries and orange zest or mini chocolate chips. Delicious, light and moist - perfect with a cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I made a few substitutions based on what I had in my pantry and they still turned out delicious. I used 1/2 cup of dried cranberries/blueberries (mixed), and 2/3 cup of almond milk instead of regular milk. Everything else was kept as per recipe. Since I didn't understand what was meant by rubbing the butter into the flour, I just used two knives and using criss/cross cutting motions, cut the butter into the flour/sugar mixture as best I could. After you make the well and add milk, I used a fork to stir it all then once blended, used my hands. At this point, the butter made its way completely into the mixture. I used a 350 degree oven and kept the scones in the oven for 22 minutes. Oh and in trying to keep things easy, I also did as another reviewer suggested and just created a big circular shape with dough on a large wooden cutting board and then cut it into 8 pieces like pie slices. ENJOY they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I didn't have currants, so chocolate chips it was. DELICIOUS! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
they turned out amazing..i had no milk, so i used a mixture of evaporated milk with water...they were yummy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States