Brunch on the Bayou Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
Thank you for posting such a lovely brunch recipe. I have several brunces a year, and this was such a nice change to the traditional stratas I usually make. A great flavor....I'd give it more than five stars if I could!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHMCSHANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
Made this for the first time for a Sunday Brunch and everyone loved it! Next time I will put at least 16 oz of the Italian sausage. We had green tobasco on the table which adds a great zest. Served this with scalloped cabbage & griled peaches with almond cream. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
After my brunch guests left I felt like some kind of cooking star. This dish brought rave reviews from everyone!! (the kids wouldn't touch it, but never eat egg dish anyway, I had homemade waffles for them) It was so different from your run-of-mill egg casserole, that people were looking foreward to trying it. My sister said it tasted much better than it smelled. I made 2 pans and that was a bit too much for 10 adults. I increased the sausage to a whole pound, and used spicy bulk sausage (not in the casing). I also used 1/2 Pepper Jack and 1/2 Monterey Jack (1/2 lb. of each). Broiled to brown the cheese for about three minutes. Then let it sit about 25 minutes before serving! Perfect! It had quite a kick. I served it with the best salad recipe in the world from this site: Mandarin Almond Salad (be sure to add the craisins). It was the perfect complement!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
I took this to a Bible study function and everyone loved it. Here are the mortifications I made; 12 oz. of sage flavored breakfast sausage instead of Italian, a little less than 1 pound of cheddar/jack cheese, and a bit more red pepper flakes than the recipe called for. I'd give this recipe 5 stars but it's kind of a pain being made one day, cooked 30 min covered, 30 uncovered and then finishing with another 10. I didn't have day old bread so I cut a 1 pound loaf into about 10 pieces and put it in a 200 degree oven for 20 minutes before cutting it into 1/2 dollar size pieces. The servings can be cut pretty small since this is very rich. I waited 30 minutes to cut and serve and it held its heat and served perfectly into squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVING4HIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
Loved it! Made it for a family Christmas Eve brunch - my aunt & uncle from Louisiana thought it was fantastic. I overcooked it a little but still thought it was great. Glad to have a egg casserole that calls for something other than ham! I'd consider this one a keeper - will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
I made this recipe on New Years day with another cassarole and it went over great! I even had to share it with a couple people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colleyville, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
We LOVED this dish! Made it for Christmas brunch and it was a hit. I scaled it for 12 servings and was still able to fit it in a 9 x 13 dish. We doubled the meat, but reduced the cheese by 1/3 and were pleased with the results. Make this soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
I was so unimpressed by this recipe although it seemed like it was going to turn out so good and smelled really good while it was cooking. It seemed like it needed something, but we couldn't figure out what that was - maybe a little less bread and a lot more green onions. The only change I made to this recipe was use a mixture of Monterey and Colby cheese because my supermarket was out of just Monterey - other than that I went by the directions to a T. Disappointed - will not make again. (Although two of my guests did really like it, the others weren't impressed either. No one asked me for the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
The dish is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
I took this to a church brunch and it was the hit of the meal. I used a sage sausage and upped it to a full pound. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Baked Brunch Omelet

A simple, savory baked egg casserole with plenty of ham and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States