Bruce's Hot Barbecue Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Hey Bruce you are the man. I made your sauce today with my dad and modified it slightly. Used 4 cloves of crushed garlic, one onion and about 14 cayenne peppers instead of powder and grinder them with the apricots. Also subsituted the cider vinegar with half white and half sherry vinegar(aged in oak barrels). It turned out AMAZING. We love it. Thanks for the GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Making up another batch as I am typing!! This is my favorite recipe but then I'm prestigious, I'm Bruce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
With July Fourth in just four days, I decided to come on All Recipes to find a BBQ sauce recipe for some chicken wings. Here I am. As I started to put together the ingredients, and with the recipe halved, I was asking what I got myself into. Although I halved the size, this will make a lot of sauce, I was feeling there were too many ingredients that just may not go together, and that there were too many that were sweet. As it was simmering, I tasted it. It's good, and I understand why Bruce Fisher has five stars on his sauce. What did I do different? Mango instead of apricot, and dried crushed habanero instead of regular red pepper flakes. After feeding this to my friends yesterday, I not only gave out the recipe, but can say that I will gladly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I was looking to use up a can of apricots and a package of chicken drumsticks. Used this sauce in combination with another recipe on this site. Since this makes alot, I cut the recipe way down to cover 5 drumsticks. Thanks! It was really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I added three tablespoons of cornstarch and it thickened nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
OMG! This recipe can compete with the BIG BOYS at the competition BBQ's! There is NO reason to eat that gross bottled stuff at the store when this is so easy to make! I wish it was a little thicker though. Got any ideas on how to thicken it without adding anything fattening??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Best BBQ sauce I ever had! Just the right amount of heat. Thank you for submitting this. I will never use store bought again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
very good sauce, nice blend of flavors. i like little more heat, so i replaced the red pepper flakes with three deseeded fresh scotch bonnet chiles and it tasted fine. great recipe bruce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Excellent recipe! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This recipe makes a lot of sauce so I halved the recipe. Made as written and it has a lot of ingredients. Instead of simmering it for an hour, I put in my pressure cooker on high and cooked it for 15 minutes. Put into 4 2 cup canning jars and let cool in the fridge. We had company over today and I opened a jar and "everyone" dipped their "chicken fried chicken" from this site into it and said "where did you buy this sauce, It's AWESOME". I ended up giving 2 jars away and plan to make more this coming weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States