Bruce's Honey Sesame Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Very delicious, easy. One of the best bread machine breads I have ever made. It did rise too much and then sink way down in the middle, maybe needed a bit more flour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graniteville, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
My husband and I enjoy this bread. Good tasting, quick to make. Easy to toast sesame seeds. I think all the ingredients and amounts used are in perfect proportion to each other. I wouldn't change anything. Thanks Karen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
This is the first bread machine recipe I've tried that didn't adapt well to the manual method. For the liquid I used buttermilk, subbed wheat germ for the wheat bran, and subbed King Arthur's Harvest Grain Blend for the sesame seeds. Perhaps the substitutions caused the bread to rise very little, so it is very dense. However, the flavor is outstanding, so I will probably give this one another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This is my current favorite bread recipe.I didn't bother with the buttermilk powder and just used skim milk powder in place of it.To toast the sesame seeds I put them in my cast iron frying pan over medium low heat and stir them constantly.They'll burn quite easily if you don't stir them.I also doubled this recipe and I make it by hand too.Bake it at 350 for 35 to 40 minutes.The color of the bread always turns out golden brown so it's very pleasing to the eye as well as to your taste buds.This recipe will be one I'll be making again and again to share with family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LITSTER5
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I'm sorry, but I changed this recipe quite a bit, but it turned out great! Nice and soft and light and good tasting. I added 2 tablespoons of margarine, since there was no fat in the recipe. I used 3 1/3 cups of flour. I substituted oat bran for the wheat bran since that's all I had in the house, and I decreased the yeast to 1 3/4 tsp. of bread machine yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITSTER5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
It was a little heavy on the sesame taste for my liking but my family love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
I think the failure in this recipe was mine. I over roasted the sesame seeds almost to the point of burnt (10 min @ 350). The taste carried through to the bread. Not sure if I will give this one another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERARN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Interlachen, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
I used 1 Tbsp. of 2% milk instead of powdered buttermilk, used all purpose flour instead of bread flour and only used 1 1/2 of that and about 1 1/2 c. of wheat flour. I used about 1/3c of Sesame seeds instead of 1/2c. The ends are VERY chewy, and yet crunchy. My son didn't seem to like this bread too much. My husband enjoyed it, but it wasn't a favorite. Oh well!! We'll keep looking!! Also, I cooked it in the oven at 350 for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
Good! Gave 4 stars on advice of my sister. It's a bit chewy, especially the ends, and not as crunchy as I'd hoped...even though there's a whole 1/2 cup of sesame seeds in there, you could add more before it would be super-noticeable. Turned out perfect shape, no problems. Used powdered skim milk instead of buttermilk powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
I really liked this bread, but I made some changes. I added 1 T. gluten, replaced 2 c. of bread flour with whole wheat, added 1/2 c. ground flax, and upped the bran to 4 T. (instead of 3). I also added 1/8 c. extra honey. The bread turned out great--I could taste sweetness, but not so sweet that it couldn't be a sandwich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States