Brownies To Die For Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2003
Very good! They are definitely meant for a 13x9 pan. What worked for me is to bake till done, "set" in center, pulls away from edges. Remove from oven, add chips, let melt a little then spread. Add nuts. Press them in if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2002
These took much longer to bake than the recipe indicated, but well worth the wait-these were extremely moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2002
I cooked this for 90 minutes at which point the outer edge was burnt and the middle was still goo. I think it's too much volume for a 9x9 pan; maybe a 9x13 or two 9x9's would work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
Works well in a 9x13 pan, using the 3-egg "cake-like brownies" recipe on the back of the brownie box. They were ready in 30 minutes - moist and delicious. I sprinkled the chocolate chips on top before baking and skipped the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I was so excited about this recipe. I never buy frosting anymore, and I went to the store to buy the frosting. I prepared the batter this morning and followed the directions. I used a 9X9 pan and put it in the oven at 6:27am. At 7:30, it was still a little jiggly, but I didn't want it over done, and I had to leave for work, so took it out of the oven. At 3:30 this afternoon, it was still WET in the middle. I have no idea how this could possibly be done baking in 20 minutes. I gave it over an hour and it still wasn't done. It's a shame because it tasted really good. We ate a little around the edges that were done more than the middle, but most of it ended up in the trash. I might try again because I really liked the flavor, but would definitely put this in a 9X13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
I have made these brownies a dozen or so times. They always want more! I do bake mine in a 9X13 pan instead of a 9X9. They are just marvelous brownies and soooo easy!! Just a hint...you can use any brownie mix, cake frosting and the sour cream. Be creative! Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BebbieDuck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
These are fabulous! Baked in an aluminum 9x13 pan for 40 minutes & immediately loosened bars around edge of pan. Was out of sour cream, but had plain yogurt, worked fine. Used leftover Hershey's nuggets intstead of chocolate chips and nuts. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
I know I'm not the only one that had problems with this recipe - so that's good to know. It was delicious, don't get me wrong - but twenty minutes in a 9x9 pan was nowhere near enough time for these. They were great, we scooped it out of the pan, but as for brownies this recipe was severely lacking. Taste, on the other hand, was wonderful. I'm going to make these again in a 13x9 pan and give them another shot, however. (Edit...I did make them again, in a 9x13 pan and they were perfect! Thanks!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
I got this recipe from iWon.com. I did not get to see the reviews before making these brownies. I cooked them as the recipe stated but had to cook them for an additional 25 minutes. They were too runny in the middle. I started to think my oven was broken. My husband increased the temperature and left them in for about 15 minutes. They were still wet in the middle. We let the pan sit for 20 minutes before tasting the sides of the pan. They were awesome but we still had to throw it out. I wish I would of seen the reviews. Allrecipes should make the change on the recipe. They need to be baked in a bigger pan. I used the recommended 9X9. I will try these again in a bigger pan. The coconut/pecans add the "Wow" factor in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2000
Is this correct? Should it be 1 box of coconut pecan frosting instead of 1 container? I used the container ready mixed frosting and got an expensive mess of goo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States