Brownies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Absolutely wonderful! Brownies were moist and kind of dense which I liked. I made a 1/2 recipe since I was short on chocolate squares. I didn't bother with the sifting and double boiler. I simply combined the dry ingredients in a bowl, melted the chocolate & butter in the microwave then added that and the eggs to the dry ingredients and used my electric beater to combine. I did not alter the ingredients but added a touch of vanilla extract. Since I was making a half recipe in a smaller pan I only cooked for 25 minutes. You do not want to overbake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Thank you for this recipe! I had one many years ago nearly like this that I had lost, and was craving it! The only change was that I used semi-sweet chocolate squares and added some vanilla. These brownies are great. Very chewy and fall apart easily, but wonderful flavor! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEWIN76

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
These came out quite chewy. I like brownies when they're a bit more fudgey but these were a great success at home all the same. I suggest you don't bake more than indicated and also added a teaspoonful of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbfelix90

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Good basic brownie and the plus for us is that they are not too sweet - because of the unsweetened chocolate. Just a little on the chewy side, but otherwise very good. For those that complain of bitterness just use semisweet chocolate instead - very easy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
These were pretty good, but I am going to keep trying new brownie recipes. I didn't mix any candies in, but I dusted some with powdered sugar and cut them with my new Wilton brownie cutter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by absolutelybecky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
I have made these two times. Very bitter. Not good, I brought them to work...and home again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
Good but just a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
The first time i made this recipe it was WONDERFUL!!!!!! BUT everytime i make it now it's bitter and dry and never comes out well.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMATULLAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2000
i don't know but when i made this recipe, the result was kind of bitter. am i doing something wrong. this is a chewy recipe though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States