Brownie Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
This recipe is EXCELLENT! I work in a small fine food, wine and deli cafe/restaurant and it is one of our most popular cakes. I had a problem with it being to dry (the center was smooth and fudgey, but it got drier as it goes out). A quick stir of the batter during cooking solved it fast! I make a double recipe in a 28cm springform pan, crush chocolate biscuits ontop and serve it with cream and icecream. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
I was a bit afraid that this would just be brownies in a round pan, but it definitely was not! It was dense and fudgy, and the glaze came out absolutely perfectly. Before chilling, I decorated the top with sliced strawberries - it looked great with little effort! Keep this chilled at all times and serve with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
AWESOME! I would rate 6 stars if there was one! I made this in a square 9 inch and served it with whipped cream AND sliced strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
This dessert was quick and simple to make.Out of 4 people ,2 liked it a lot.The cake part wasn't sweet enough although the frosting was very good!!I wound up making another batch of the frosting to pour over the slices as we ate it.I will make it again,just maybe add more chocolate chips or use a sweeter chocolate chip instead of semi sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
I love this recipe! It was very easy to follow, though next time I'd make more glaze. We used a christmas tree shaped baking pan and covered the whole thing with strawberries for our christmas eve party. Everybody loved it! I might try using melted white chocolate or cream to decorate it as well another time... Recipe is definitely worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This torte was outstanding and very easy to prepare!!! Fresh berries must be placed on top while the icing is still "wet" or they fall off. I used fresh, dry raspberries, but any berry would work. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
I made this torte in a round springform pan, it was high while baking but once I took it out it completly shrunk, to about half the size. I was also worried because it was pretty hard on top, but once I cut it open the inside was like a big gooey uncooked brownie!! I love this recipe, but for some reason the top of my torte was pretty hard and very chewy, I will try to get rid of that next time, but it was excellent of then that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Extremely good. Be sure to use good quality chocolate chips. I think it makes all the difference. My culinary challenged boyfriend made this for me on my birthday. It was his first attempt at baking and it came out wonderfully. We're not big on sweets so I thought for certain that we would end up freezing the leftovers. Wrong. The two of us ate the entire thing in 3 days. Bad for the waistline, but good for the taste buds. Maybe I'll make it for his birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
I love chocolate! I found that mine wasn't cooked after 30 minutes so I put it in longer. The outsides burned but the middle was perfect. I guess I have to experiment with my oven. My husband loved it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
This is very rich and chocolatey. However, it is not a proper torte.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Lemon Kissed Brownie Bites

See how to make delectable brownie bites with just a hint of lemon.

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States