Brownie Oat Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
Pretty good! I followed the recipe to a T and discoverd that there wasn't enough liquid with just the egg whites, vanilla and corn syrup. I couldn't even moisten all of the dry ingredients. So I added a little canola oil thinking it would fix them up. I didn't measure it, just added enough to make them moist - maybe 1/4 cup in the end or less. The cookies turned out pretty good! I feared that adding too much corn syrup would make them too crunchy (something I've experienced before). So in the end I will probably make these again, but modify it slightly - perhaps 1 egg and 1 egg white, plus 3 T. of oil (or maybe 2 T. of butter) just to get them going. Easy part was everything is always in the pantry ready to go. I'm not too gung-ho on super low fat, a little fat is OK by me. I also got 24 cookies total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
Just okay- it tastes low-fat! Not great for a chocolate fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
I made this recipe into brownies by doubling the recipe and pressing the dough into a 9x13 inch pan. I think it probably helped hold in the miosture of the cookie, but there is definitly a lack of flavor. For a lowfat treat, I guess they will do. Just don't keep trying them over and over again, as I did, waiting for a chocolate fix! It just won't happen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
Very good! Tasty enough that my kids (and husband) will eat them, but healthy enough to make me want to make them again and again. Only 4 stars because, well, healthy doesn't taste as good as butter. I had to add about a Tbl. more of cornsyrup. Make sure you spray the sheet, even if it's nonstick. Great one bowl recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
OH. MY. GOD. These cookies are soooo good! I don't know why there were bad reviews. I didn't add any extra corn syrup, and they turned out great. I loooove them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
I thought this recipe was great! I followed it exactly and then added 1/2 cup of chocolate chips on top of it. I love them, and thought they turned out great, and practically guilt-free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
I originally followed another review that said to double the amount of corn syrup in this cookie. That was a really bad idea! I finally came back to this recipe and tried it again, this time following the recipe exactly, but I had to add some vegetable oil because there wasn't enough moisture to incorporate the ingredients well. The cookies still turned out rather sticky, but much better than the last time. You can taste the nice hint of chocolate, but they still seem to be missing a little something that would improve the flavour and counter the sticky corn syrup. I don't think I'll really want to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
I thought these cookies were awesome! Must admit, though, that I did add a little more corn syrup to moisten the dry ingredients. Sifted some powdered sugar on top...yum, yum, yum! Good warm, but still chewy and tasty when cool. Try 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Carmody

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arkansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I thought these were excellent. I don't understand the negative reviews. They DO taste like brownies and they are moist. I did add about 2 Tbsp more corn syrup. I also mixed the whole thing up with a spatula instead of a mixer. For those who rated low because there is an aftertaste - it's cocoa - so if you don't especially like cocoa then you won't like the aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Good, very chewy. I thought they we're ok, but my boyfriend loved them. I used the suggestion of using half all-purpose flour and half whole-wheat. Definately, worth it if you're watching calories. Also I only got 2 dozen out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States