Brownie Oat Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I think these are actually really delicious. The only problem is they are a little dry when done, so I am not sure what I'd want to change. I followed the recipe along with some of the suggestions. I used 1 egg and one egg white; I used maple syrup instead of corn syrup (I only used probably about 1/6 of a cup or less--I'd probably want to try lite corn syrup next time because the sugar was far too much and I could taste the maple); I also had to add just a splash of milk to get it all mixed together. I baked a small portion of the mix, and then decided to mix the rest with some espresso. I added just a small bit (probably 1-2 tbs worth), and it's absolutely delicious! I had to add just a little more flour (maybe a teaspoon) and some more oats to get it back to a decent consistency, but I definitely prefer it with the espresso! I'm new to baking, so if anyone has any hints as to how to get the cookies more moist without adding too much more sugar (more corn syrup, etc.) I'd greatly appreciate it! Maybe the suggestion of a banana would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Disclaimer: I made these as brownies, not cookies. Used whole eggs, and added ONE RIPE MASHED BANANA (which really helps with the texture & sweetness). Also added some mini-marshmallows. Very tasty and low fat. Cut into about 16 small, square brownies. The banana taste with the chocolate is amazing. Baked at 350 for 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Billie
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Easy to prepare, and pretty good tasting too. Mine came out a bit crispy on the edges, but chewy on the inside. They weren't overly chocolatey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Easy to make I only substitited whole wheat flour & tastes great. Very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISANLAUREN
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Quite yummy...I've been making these for about 4 months now, and just last week at the store, I purchased an Odawala Bar that tastes EXACTLY like these (minus the almonds). And those are over a buck each! I made some modifications to the recipe as well. I use 1/3 cup whole wheat flour and 1/3 cup wheat germ (and no AP flour). As other readers have suggested, I use 2 whole eggs instead of 2 egg whites. And I let them cool on the baking sheet for at least 2-3 minutes before removing them to a wire rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
These were good but if I made them again I would use nuts instead of oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Delicious! I did make two significant changes: I used the whole egg, and instead of unsweetened cocoa, I actually used Mexican-spiced ground chocolate (which is actually just a hot cocoa mix that I happened to have at home). They came out moist and chewy and delicious - more like cookies than brownies though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Yum! At my husbands request I did add some chocolate and butterscotch chips. These are not the prettiest cookies in the world...but they are tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
For those who need a quick and easy chocolate(and low-calorie)fix, this can help! While not the sweetest of treats, this does have a nice chocolate taste. I didn't have any corn syrup so I substituted an equal measure of honey. The cookies turned out great and I will have no problem making them again when I need a cookie quick fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I tried this recipe to find alternatives to little debbie cakes in my sons lunch. The only thing I changed was adding the 2 egg yellows. My son loved them and said he would like them in his lunch. I thought they were a decent chocolate low fat dessert. Of course full fat is better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Princeton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States