Brownie Oat Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Delicious! I made these tonight for my family and they loved them, couldn't even tell that they were low in fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Here's how I got these cookies to 36 calories per cookie. 1) decrease sugar to 1/2 cup 2) use Aunt Jemima lite syrup. Here's how I added some tastiness. 1) used chocolate extract, instead of vanilla. 2) use old fashioned oats. Since I'm on a strict calorie diet, I measured and added up everything, totaling 1,174 calories. I used a teaspoon and got 33 cookies. This equals 35.58 calories per cookie. YUMMY! Thanks for the very low calorie cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
quick/easy and good for my son who cannot have milk or chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This rating actually came from my husband. He and I love brownies and we wanted a treat that wouldn't make us feel horrible about ourselves afterward. Here's the deal, if you are making this recipe with the expectation that it is going to taste as good as a regular cookie or a brownie for that matter, this isn't the recipe for you. It met our expectations because we knew it wasn't supposed to taste the way a regular cookie tastes. We liked them. However, after reading some of the reviews, I changed a few things. I added 2 whole eggs and substituted half of the sugar with Splenda. I realize adding the eggs adds more calories, but I think it may be necessary for the consistency. Also, I don't know who can actually get 30 cookies out of this recipe, but I certainly couldn't. It made about 15 instead. I would make this again and my husband would eat them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Great low-cal/low-fat recipe! I followed the suggestion of using whole eggs and mixed the cocoa powder in with the wet ingredients to help dissolve it (always tastes better to me that way but it could be in my head.) As a health-conscious person with a positively insatiable sweet tooth, I will definitely make these again with a few modifications- could definitely use just a smidge more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthFoodPlease
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chocolatekisses
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
3 STARS on taste, but extra star for EASE! My cookies tasted a little powdery, and were not the chocolaty rich flavor I was hoping for. Very EASY and inexpensive to make, so I recommend you try them and see if they work for you. REMEMBER they are low-fat, so if you are really craving a brownie then this recipe won't satisfy! I used an airbake pan sprayed with oil, and my cookies did NOT stick. I increased flour to 1 cup (used wheat) added extra egg white (additional 20 calories) instead of including the egg yolks (which would be additional 50 calories per yolk). The mixture is dry, but keep working it until it all mixes together. I think adding walnuts (great for your brain) and a little drizzle of low-fat, lite, or sugar free Hersey syrup would complement them well and keep them Low-Calorie/Fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolatekisses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
these cookies taste pretty good, but the best thing is they are so healthy! To make them healthier than the recipe suggests I used non-bleached flour, and honey instead of corn syrup. They are dry though so I added only half the flour the next time I made them and they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
These are easy, healthy, and satisfying. No, it won't compare to a full-fat brownie, but how could it? I played a bit with the recipe - one whole egg instead of egg whites, old-fashioned instead of quick oats, added about 1/3 to 1/2 cup of applesauce and much less corn syrup, and when the batter was a bit runny, added rice krispies until it seemed more like cookie batter consistency. Loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This recipe was great. Very chocolaty, a bit cake-like, and delicious. The only thing I changed is that I used Agave Nectar instead of corn syrup, because that's all I have. They turned out great, and the mix was just the right consistency. These are so easy; I'm sure I'll make them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BumbleBrandi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I looked through the reviews of this before i tried it! I decided to go with the 2 whole eggs and maple syrup instead of corn syrup. I used belgian chocolate instead of cocoa because i didn't have any cocoa handy. I know this pretty much changes the recipe but its the same base in principle and it worked for me! The cookies spread out a bit but i started with a tester, so that went well! My kids LOVED them and they turned out super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States