Brownie Mix in a Jar II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
Very, very good. They are very moist and not as heavy as most brownies. I make them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
I agree with ELISSAROCKS. I made it with the suggestions of others and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
I just made the brownies, might try the jars some other time. I wanted to make these but was out of butter. I thought I'd experiment to see whether margerine or oil would work. I made a batch with margerine, one with oil, also used just three eggs and 2 cups sugar, as suggsted (chocolate chips sound good too, but I didn't have any). The oil batch seemed dry so I added a little water to make it the same consistency as the other one. I thought both batches tasted good - the one with oil tasted slightly better, with no aftertaste like you sometimes get with margerine. The only thing I would do differently is to use a smaller pan - these don't rise much. I'm sure they are great, maybe even better, made with butter, but you can definitely use margerine or oil for a cheaper and (somewhat)healthier alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
Excellent! I too, made the recommended changes. 3 eggs, 1 c butter, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2 c choc chips, less sugar (I did 2 c. but next time might even do a little less) and no nuts (personal preference). Brownies are one of my favorite desserts and the best thing is, I can now make them hydrogenated free from scratch! YEAH!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
A wonderful fast mix to make. Makes a good present, but I hate to give a batch away - I want it for myself. ;-) Sometimes I add a little cinnamon, sometimes some vanilla sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
This recipe has WAY too much sugar. I am redoing the recipe now with half the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
This was my first time making brownies from scratch and they turned out great! I did a few alterations. 1 cup butter, 3 jumbo eggs, and two cups sugar and 1 tsp. vanilla. No nuts. A great moist brownie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
I made this recipe twice--the first as the other reviewers recommended and again exactly as stated on the recipe. The rating I gave is on the original recipe (3 stars). As written, the brownies came out kind of bland and cake-like, yet at the same time too sweet. I will not be making it again as stated. With the changes other reviewers recommended, it is a definite 5 star recipe. They are rich, fudgy, and yet not too sweet and I will be making them again for sure. If you make no other changes to the original recipe, definitely at least add some vanilla extact, you'll need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
These are really great!! A very very versatile recipe. I think it is the best basic one I have had. I also altered the recipe. I made two pans of these each differently. First one: 1 cup butter, 3 eggs, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2 cup sliced almonds, 1/4 cup sweetened coconut. These gave me a very fudgey cnd chewy brownie, VERY YUMMY!!! Second batch: 1 cup butter, 4 eggs, and 1 1/4 tsp vanilla. This made a very yummy and nice cake like fudgey brownie. Both are very good. But if you prefer thicker brownies the second way is best!! This is now my brownie recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
The recipe as it is is average but with the changes made by other reviews they were very good. Not the best I've made but very good. The changes were as followes: 1 c. butter 2 c. sugar 1/2 c. chocolate chips (I would do one cup next time 'cause I really like chocolate) 1 tsp vanilla 3 eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Lemon Kissed Brownie Bites

See how to make delectable brownie bites with just a hint of lemon.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States