Brownie Mix in a Jar II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
This recipe has WAY too much sugar. I am redoing the recipe now with half the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
This was my first time making brownies from scratch and they turned out great! I did a few alterations. 1 cup butter, 3 jumbo eggs, and two cups sugar and 1 tsp. vanilla. No nuts. A great moist brownie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
I made this recipe twice--the first as the other reviewers recommended and again exactly as stated on the recipe. The rating I gave is on the original recipe (3 stars). As written, the brownies came out kind of bland and cake-like, yet at the same time too sweet. I will not be making it again as stated. With the changes other reviewers recommended, it is a definite 5 star recipe. They are rich, fudgy, and yet not too sweet and I will be making them again for sure. If you make no other changes to the original recipe, definitely at least add some vanilla extact, you'll need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
These are really great!! A very very versatile recipe. I think it is the best basic one I have had. I also altered the recipe. I made two pans of these each differently. First one: 1 cup butter, 3 eggs, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2 cup sliced almonds, 1/4 cup sweetened coconut. These gave me a very fudgey cnd chewy brownie, VERY YUMMY!!! Second batch: 1 cup butter, 4 eggs, and 1 1/4 tsp vanilla. This made a very yummy and nice cake like fudgey brownie. Both are very good. But if you prefer thicker brownies the second way is best!! This is now my brownie recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
The recipe as it is is average but with the changes made by other reviews they were very good. Not the best I've made but very good. The changes were as followes: 1 c. butter 2 c. sugar 1/2 c. chocolate chips (I would do one cup next time 'cause I really like chocolate) 1 tsp vanilla 3 eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
Best brownie recipe ever! I was to make a gift for a school basket. We love brownies so tried this one! I will make even if not to give! YUMMM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowereyesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
i made this brownie 2 hours ago and it's the best brownie i ever had! i used 2 cups sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 cup butter. baked it in a 9x13 pan sprayed with pam. i did not use chips or nuts but threw 1 1/2 cups of sweetened coconut in. my oh my! needless to say, this is the only brownie recipe i will be using here on in. oh, and the brownies are almost gone already! yummy! i think i'll go and grab another brownie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Skowhegan, Maine, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
These brownies, are absolutely...S-U-P-E-R! They are just right - very rich and chocolatey, gooey, fudgy and slightly chewy. I made them as is but without nuts and I added a teaspoon of vanilla. These are so heavenly, I can easily finish the entire pan all to myself in one day if I am not careful. You have to try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
I have never made brownies from scratch, and I will not be making them any other way from now on. Everone loved them. Nice and fudgy but not overly sweet or rich. I did take others suggestions and used 1 cup of butter, 2 cups of sugar, would have been too sweet with more than that, half a cup of chocolate chips,1 tsp of vailla,3 eggs and only 1/2 cup of pecans. I also put the batter in an 8x8 pyrex dish so they would be thicker and fudgier, but it added about 15 minutes onto the time. Love it and so did everyone else. much easier to make than i thought, barely any cleanup, and stuff you already have on hand. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
This is my new brownie recipe - does not even compare to a box of mix. I did follow suggestions to change butter/egg amounts, added chips and did not add nuts as personal preference. Absolute raves for these - Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Lemon Kissed Brownie Bites

See how to make delectable brownie bites with just a hint of lemon.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States