Brownie Mix in a Jar II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Delicious. I'm only giving a four because i modifyed the recipe. I used the 1 cup of butter and 3 eggs. At first I thought i had mad a mistake. They were gooey. After firming up I could describe them as the perfect brownie. I also substitutes the choco chips of the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I just made two pans of these brownies - one as written, the other with the changes that most reviewers made (1 cup melted butter, 1 tsp vanilla, and 3 eggs) and I must say that I prefer them the way the recipe is written - one cup of butter seems to be too much to me. One thing I did do when assembling the jars was to put the pecans into a small resealable plastic bag before putting them into the jars - this way those who do not care for nuts in their brownies (and I have found that many don't) can exclude them if they wish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I usually make Brownie Mixes from the store - because they're fast, cheap, and taste as good as homemade. THIS recipe was as easy and AS GOOD AS store box mixes. MAYBE better. Definitely a do-again, even for the very high sugar content. Looks good in a jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
As many reviews suggested, I used 2 cups o fsugar and 3 eggs. I also added 1/2cup of chocolate chips. I baked in a 9x9 pan, so I baked them for 55 minutes. They tasted great. I am giving it a 4 because it's not the best ever, but its close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
These are a great basic brownie!! I adjusted the eggs and butter as other reviewers suggested. I also substituted 1 Cup Splenda sugar blend for the regular sugar. Will definitely be making these again. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Great brownies and just as easy as the box kind but MUCH MUCH BETTER!! I used 2 cups of sugar and some vanilla, was still a little sweet so will cut the sugar even more next time. My husband LOVED these. Commented more than once how good and moist they were. This is a real KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
Gave this to a teacher for a gift and she ended up asking me for the recipe, she loved it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOTQUITEMARTHA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I normally like to follow a recipie exactly like it reads so that I can make my own judgements and then change as needed. I figure I need to give it a fair shot. I have been making my own brownies from scratch for years- and every one loves them- but it is not one you can put in a jar. I did try this so I could give as gifts. I found that I do agree with other readers- too much sugar. I found it a bit to cake like and agree that 3 eggs would be better and make it more fudgier. I am not giving up I will try again with the suggested reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I made this mix for a craft fair. I had plenty left over and I'm glad! These are the best brownies and I will never make boxed ones again. These are so easy to whip up and everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
These were great brownies. I did follow the changes as indicated by the 7/10/06 reviewer - 3 eggs, 2 cups sugar, etc.. I still found it a tad sweet, so I may even cut back on the sugar another 1/4 cup next time, but all in all, terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Lemon Kissed Brownie Bites

See how to make delectable brownie bites with just a hint of lemon.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States