Brownie Mix in a Jar II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Delicious. I'm only giving a four because i modifyed the recipe. I used the 1 cup of butter and 3 eggs. At first I thought i had mad a mistake. They were gooey. After firming up I could describe them as the perfect brownie. I also substitutes the choco chips of the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I just made two pans of these brownies - one as written, the other with the changes that most reviewers made (1 cup melted butter, 1 tsp vanilla, and 3 eggs) and I must say that I prefer them the way the recipe is written - one cup of butter seems to be too much to me. One thing I did do when assembling the jars was to put the pecans into a small resealable plastic bag before putting them into the jars - this way those who do not care for nuts in their brownies (and I have found that many don't) can exclude them if they wish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I usually make Brownie Mixes from the store - because they're fast, cheap, and taste as good as homemade. THIS recipe was as easy and AS GOOD AS store box mixes. MAYBE better. Definitely a do-again, even for the very high sugar content. Looks good in a jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
As many reviews suggested, I used 2 cups o fsugar and 3 eggs. I also added 1/2cup of chocolate chips. I baked in a 9x9 pan, so I baked them for 55 minutes. They tasted great. I am giving it a 4 because it's not the best ever, but its close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
These are a great basic brownie!! I adjusted the eggs and butter as other reviewers suggested. I also substituted 1 Cup Splenda sugar blend for the regular sugar. Will definitely be making these again. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Great brownies and just as easy as the box kind but MUCH MUCH BETTER!! I used 2 cups of sugar and some vanilla, was still a little sweet so will cut the sugar even more next time. My husband LOVED these. Commented more than once how good and moist they were. This is a real KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
Gave this to a teacher for a gift and she ended up asking me for the recipe, she loved it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOTQUITEMARTHA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I normally like to follow a recipie exactly like it reads so that I can make my own judgements and then change as needed. I figure I need to give it a fair shot. I have been making my own brownies from scratch for years- and every one loves them- but it is not one you can put in a jar. I did try this so I could give as gifts. I found that I do agree with other readers- too much sugar. I found it a bit to cake like and agree that 3 eggs would be better and make it more fudgier. I am not giving up I will try again with the suggested reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I made this mix for a craft fair. I had plenty left over and I'm glad! These are the best brownies and I will never make boxed ones again. These are so easy to whip up and everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
These were great brownies. I did follow the changes as indicated by the 7/10/06 reviewer - 3 eggs, 2 cups sugar, etc.. I still found it a tad sweet, so I may even cut back on the sugar another 1/4 cup next time, but all in all, terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Lemon Kissed Brownie Bites

See how to make delectable brownie bites with just a hint of lemon.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States