Brownie Mix in a Jar II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Great brownies and just as easy as the box kind but MUCH MUCH BETTER!! I used 2 cups of sugar and some vanilla, was still a little sweet so will cut the sugar even more next time. My husband LOVED these. Commented more than once how good and moist they were. This is a real KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
Gave this to a teacher for a gift and she ended up asking me for the recipe, she loved it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOTQUITEMARTHA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I normally like to follow a recipie exactly like it reads so that I can make my own judgements and then change as needed. I figure I need to give it a fair shot. I have been making my own brownies from scratch for years- and every one loves them- but it is not one you can put in a jar. I did try this so I could give as gifts. I found that I do agree with other readers- too much sugar. I found it a bit to cake like and agree that 3 eggs would be better and make it more fudgier. I am not giving up I will try again with the suggested reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I made this mix for a craft fair. I had plenty left over and I'm glad! These are the best brownies and I will never make boxed ones again. These are so easy to whip up and everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
These were great brownies. I did follow the changes as indicated by the 7/10/06 reviewer - 3 eggs, 2 cups sugar, etc.. I still found it a tad sweet, so I may even cut back on the sugar another 1/4 cup next time, but all in all, terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I made this recipe with my middle school students..they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I make these with the changes suggested by the other reviewers, and it is such an incredible hit wherever I serve it. The best part about it is how easy it is to make. (Also, cut out a couple of pieces for yourself when it's right out of the oven. It's gooey and messy but utterly heavenly.) The changes - 3 eggs, 1 cup butter, 2 cups sugar, 3/4 cup pecans, + 1 tsp vanilla essence and 1 cup choc. chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I've been searching for a good brownie recipe that uses cocoa powder instead of the unsweetened baking chocolate squares and I am so glad to find this one! I never have the baker's chocolate squares on hand, but always have cocoa powder. But when I went to try this recipe I quickly discovered I was 1/3 cup short of cocoa powder, so I stirred in 1/4 cup of dark chocolate syrup and it worked great! I can't wait to try it with the full 2/3 cup of cocoa. I also reduced the sugar to 2 cups. Thanks for sharing this recipe! I will be making the jar gifts for this in the future for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDY76541

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
I usually replace the pecans with peanut butter M&Ms, peanut butter morsels, white chocolate morsels, or chocolate-carmel swirl morsels--> everyone loves them. They are always a great gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DigitalGrrl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I also used only 1 and a half cups of sugar, chocolate chips in place of nuts, only three eggs, 1 cup of butter and a teaspoon of vanilla essence and it was yummy. I took them in to work and everyone loved them, I had to share the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portsmouth, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Kissed Brownie Bites

See how to make delectable brownie bites with just a hint of lemon.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States