Brownie Mix in a Jar II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly as written and these brownies were HEAVENLY! Not at all dry - very moist and chocolately. I was in the market not for a gift idea, but for a brownie mix that I could prepare (several batches) ahead of time and seal in storage bags. This recipe works great! You may guess that my family loves brownies, and this is more economical than, and almost as easy as, the boxed mixes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
great recipe, a little cakey like the other reviewers said even after i just used 3 eggs. still a bit on the sweet side for my family, but just a tad because i usually enjoy my desserts a bit less sweet. i used 2 cups of sugar and 2 sticks of butter like the other reviewers have recommended but will most likely use 1 and 3/4 cups of sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristie111

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
This is a good recipe made up as brownies - I tried it with NO changes. A great gift idea! Thanks Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Photo by LolitaGDL
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Best ever brownies with simple ingredients, but I add an extra egg to the recipe instead of reduce to 3 eggs, use herseys cocoa and 2 teaspoon of dark cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolitaGDL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I made this recipe (with three eggs) along with Sand Art Brownies and I couldn't tell the difference between the two. Both are super easy to do but I preferred the Sand Art because of the stir-ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
The layers were a little boring in the jar but the brownies were wonderful, I used canola oil instead of butter and the brownies were wonderfully chewy. I figured the taste should win over the presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinedale, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Ok a few things. First, the taste definitely gets 5 stars, BUT only with the user recommended changes to the recipe. Those changes are as follows: use 1 c. melted butter, 3 eggs, and 1 teaspoon vanilla(this requires you to change the info on the tag you print; trust me you want to do that, i did a test run and they are sooooooooo good w/ the changes). Also, for the ingrediants in the jar it's fine w/ only 2 c. sugar. OK second, another major problem is getting everything to fit. I used 1 quart wide-mouth canning jars. You HAVE to pack down everything!!!! I found making my hand into a fist and using my knuckles and back of hand to pack down ingrediants works really well.Pack very tight!!!, seriously.In this order,Flour, baking powder, and salt, PACK!, then cocoa, PACK!, then wipe the inside of the jar with a dry paper towel(it gets pretty messy and will make the above sugar look dirty), then put the sugar (packing here helps only a little bit but still do it). *Another reveiwer figured out a clever trick which i will reiterate here "To cut down the "all sugar" look, I layered as follows: flour mixture first, then 1/3 c. cocoa, 1 c. sugar, 1/3 c. cocoa, 1 c. sugar, then the pecans." This works well and looks good, but i ran out of time, so just did the norm way and it looks fine.* Ok by now there is very little room in the jar, even with all that packing. So I basically improvised. I put about 1/4 c each of nuts and choc chips. You could do just one or the other but my point
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I made this today, substituted regular sugar with brown sugar, used the milk & 3 eggs, it was good , but not a chewy brownie like texture, but easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Delhi, Delhi, India
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
This is by far the best brownie recipie I have ever tried. I get asked to make it all the time. Try adding some milk instead of some eggs. Once I found the batter a little on the dry side so I added some milk and the brownies came out softer then ever. Almost exactly like the two-bite brownies you can buy from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
We used this recipe last year to make teacher gifts. This year I have had teachers ask if we are making them again. We used andes mint pieces instead of nuts. awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Kissed Brownie Bites

See how to make delectable brownie bites with just a hint of lemon.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States