Brownie Mix in a Jar II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I love this easy recipe. I do make a few changes like some others. I add 1 cup butter and 3 eggs to make it more like fudge and less like cake. And I add chocolate chips instead of nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I made these to put in a gift basket for my boyfriends mom for mothers day. I added Peanut Butter chips to top off the jars. They turned out so cute, and I even got to taste the finished product. Great, a rich chewy, gooey brownie. These make great gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I made these brownies as a present for my sister in law last christmas. It was a success!! she tried them and was very happy and pleased because they were very easy to make. I made a tag to go along with the jar with the instruccions and the whole recipe in case she wanted to make them again. I changed two things though: instead of using 2 1/4 cup sugar, I put 1 1/2 cup of white sugar and added 1/2 cup of chocolate chips, and it still worked fine. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
The only bad thing I can say about this recipe is that it has too much of dark chocolate taste for me (I am NOT a dark chocolate person). Also, I did not put in the nuts because I hate nuts and it gave the brownies a weird taste. If I make it again, I will definitely add more sugar and will use at least semi-sweet cocoa. I would also say that this mix is even better with chocolate chips! Overall, this is a good mix - if you like nuts and dark chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3girls2parents1chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I made this fat-free by using yogurt instead of the oil and fat-free egg substitute. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla, a few chocolate chips, and left out the pecans. Oh, and cut the sugar back to 1 3/4 cups. It obviously didn't taste like a typical fudgy brownie, but it definitely satisfies a chocolate craving in a healthy way! I liked it with whipped cream and toasted almonds on top, or some raspberry jam spread over. Yum. =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly as written and these brownies were HEAVENLY! Not at all dry - very moist and chocolately. I was in the market not for a gift idea, but for a brownie mix that I could prepare (several batches) ahead of time and seal in storage bags. This recipe works great! You may guess that my family loves brownies, and this is more economical than, and almost as easy as, the boxed mixes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
great recipe, a little cakey like the other reviewers said even after i just used 3 eggs. still a bit on the sweet side for my family, but just a tad because i usually enjoy my desserts a bit less sweet. i used 2 cups of sugar and 2 sticks of butter like the other reviewers have recommended but will most likely use 1 and 3/4 cups of sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristie111

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
This is a good recipe made up as brownies - I tried it with NO changes. A great gift idea! Thanks Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Photo by LolitaGDL
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Best ever brownies with simple ingredients, but I add an extra egg to the recipe instead of reduce to 3 eggs, use herseys cocoa and 2 teaspoon of dark cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolitaGDL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I made this recipe (with three eggs) along with Sand Art Brownies and I couldn't tell the difference between the two. Both are super easy to do but I preferred the Sand Art because of the stir-ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Lemon Kissed Brownie Bites

See how to make delectable brownie bites with just a hint of lemon.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States