Brownie Mix in a Jar II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Right! Like some of the other commenters have said way to much stuff to fit in a regular mouth mason jar. I had to put the pecans and the rest of the sugar in a bag and tape it to the side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
awesome gift idea. make sure you pack everything down or else everything won't fit in the jar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakemoor, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Excellent recipe! This is the first jar mix I have made and I learned very quickly that spaghetti jars don't work because they are too small. I added lib really quickly by putting the nuts in a baggie of Syran-Wrap and hanging it off the side with the same ribbon that held the instructions. I thought it looked lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Just tested this recipe out to use for holiday gifts this year, and the brownies are delicious! To make these as friendly as possible for everyone, we replaced the nuts with chocolate chips, which my family loved. I didn't need the full 25-30 minutes too cook them in my oven, though - when I checked them at 22 minutes, they were finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Who needs more jars? Assemble the gift in Tupperware - it's useful, practical and lasts forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I love this easy recipe. I do make a few changes like some others. I add 1 cup butter and 3 eggs to make it more like fudge and less like cake. And I add chocolate chips instead of nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I made these to put in a gift basket for my boyfriends mom for mothers day. I added Peanut Butter chips to top off the jars. They turned out so cute, and I even got to taste the finished product. Great, a rich chewy, gooey brownie. These make great gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I made these brownies as a present for my sister in law last christmas. It was a success!! she tried them and was very happy and pleased because they were very easy to make. I made a tag to go along with the jar with the instruccions and the whole recipe in case she wanted to make them again. I changed two things though: instead of using 2 1/4 cup sugar, I put 1 1/2 cup of white sugar and added 1/2 cup of chocolate chips, and it still worked fine. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
The only bad thing I can say about this recipe is that it has too much of dark chocolate taste for me (I am NOT a dark chocolate person). Also, I did not put in the nuts because I hate nuts and it gave the brownies a weird taste. If I make it again, I will definitely add more sugar and will use at least semi-sweet cocoa. I would also say that this mix is even better with chocolate chips! Overall, this is a good mix - if you like nuts and dark chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3girls2parents1chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I made this fat-free by using yogurt instead of the oil and fat-free egg substitute. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla, a few chocolate chips, and left out the pecans. Oh, and cut the sugar back to 1 3/4 cups. It obviously didn't taste like a typical fudgy brownie, but it definitely satisfies a chocolate craving in a healthy way! I liked it with whipped cream and toasted almonds on top, or some raspberry jam spread over. Yum. =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Kissed Brownie Bites

See how to make delectable brownie bites with just a hint of lemon.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States