Brownie Mix in a Jar II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This is a great recipe. We made these in PINT size jars with 30 preschoolers in our MOP's program. It went so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I decided to give this out as gifts this year to some of my friends, but first wanted to make them to see how they tasted. Both my husband and I thought they were great. I only made 3 minor modifications to the recipe: 1) I used 5 eggs instead of 4 as the batter seemed a little dry to me without the 5th egg 2) I added 1 tsp of vanilla extract and 3) I add about a 1/2 cup of milk chocolate chips into the batter in addition to the nuts. They had good chocolate flavor and were very moist. As far as giving as a gift, I had no problems layering or fitting the ingredients in the jar - you do need to firmly pack each layer before adding the next. Since not everyone likes nuts or may be allergic to them, I packed the nuts separately in a bag and then packed last in the jar. If using the jar method is too much trouble for you, then simply mixing and adding the ingredients into a plastic bag works great too. You can decorate the bag or enclose the bag in some type of other decorative container; just make sure the bag is tightly secured/closed. I've done this method lots of times with "in a jar" type gifts and there are tons of creative opportunities with this method without the hassle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Gray Court, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Iheartcooking247
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This made a wonderful gift for one of my friends! She loved it, she said she wanted to go home and make it right away! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iheartcooking247

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Glenpool, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
We solved the "not fitting in the jar problem" by mixing all our white ingredients together. Then we took roughly 1 1/2 cups of the combined white mix and added it to the coca. The result was more brown ingredients to layer with the white. Looks way better in the jar. We had to add a handful of chocolate chips to the walnuts & a wee piece of paper towel at the top because there was so much room! They look great! Added Chrismas material with an elastic band, Raffia overtop and a jingle bell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookielips

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Overall, a good brownie recipe. I skipped the packaging part to just make the brownies, and they turned out really well. A bit crumbly, but they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alohagal287

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I made one of these as a test before I made them up to give for christmas gifts. Overall I thought they were pretty good brownies...I have not heard from my reciepents what they thought of them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minders

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
YUMMY! Very much a cake-style brownie. I used 1/4c nuts, 1/8 choc chips, and 1/8 M&Ms because they were for a brown and blue baby shower. I followed reviews and used 3 cups of sugar, and vanilla, 3 eggs, and 1c butter when mixing. I also used the suggestion to layer from bottom to top, flour/choc/sugar/choc/sugar/nuts/chips/candy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thecureforcommon
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I made several for a recent baby shower and was thrilled! I made a slight adjustment by using chocolate chips instead of the nuts, in case any guests had allergies. I ended up needing about 6 oz. (or half of a standard 12 oz. package) to top off the jars. I was a bit nervous using an "in a jar" recipe, but they turned out so well, and I have only received rave reviews from friends. The brownies turned out moist and delicious. This is a recipe I'll use even if I'm not prepping them in a jar ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecureforcommon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This will probably be a gift next Christmas. I used 2 c sugar, 1 c melted butter, 3 eggs, some walnuts, and some leftover reeses pieces (.25c -.33c?). Just delightful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This is a great recipe. I made about 12 batches for Christmas gifts this year. Of course, I had to "test" one first, and it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 11-20 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Kissed Brownie Bites

See how to make delectable brownie bites with just a hint of lemon.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States