Brownie Mix in a Jar II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I tried these out before giving them out as gifts and found them to be quite good. The only changes I made was to add 3 eggs, instead of 4, so the brownies would be fudgier, and took other people's recommendatons of adding 1 tsp. vanilla. As I was layering the mix, I added 1 cup of the sugar, then the pecans, then the rest of the sugar to give it a more layered look. The sugar mixes down somewhat in with the pecans, but still looks nice. Be sure to pack each layer down as this BARELY fits into a qt. jar. Good recipe, Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
i made this looking for a recipe that tastes like the box. perfect. i used 1 cup butter as per other reviews but it would be fine with 3/4c. this recipe makes more batter than the box if you don't want them too deep you could probably use 2 9x9's instead of a 9x13. very good brownies, fudgy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Per others' suggestions, I used 1 c. melted butter and only 3 eggs plus 1 t. vanilla flavoring, and swapped 1/2 c. semisweet chocolate chips for the 1/2 c. nuts. I baked mine in an 8x8 pan and increased baking time by 15 minutes, and the results were the thickest, most decadently divine brownies ever. DEFINITELY gift-worthy - package the mix in plastic bags and put that inside a brown paper lunch bag for a cheaper alternative to glass jars. Add a raffia or holiday ribbon bow along with an instruction tag, and put a holiday die-cut on the front with the name of the mix (minus the "in the jar" part). That's how I'm giving mine this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Magnolia, Arkansas, USA
Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
Well, I made these, and they're just ok. Definitely add some vanilla and decrease the butter a bit. I think I'll try the "Sand Art" brownies in a jar on this site before I make my decision. Oh how awful, that means I'll HAVE to eat more brownies...to test them out, you know. LOL! Ally
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
Most brownie recipes that use melted chocolate are too sweet for my taste so I tried this one because it uses cocoa and sure enough it tastes great! Very moist and chocolatey! I made a few changes - 3 eggs instead of 4 for a fudgier brownie, 1 cup of butter and 2 cups of sugar. I also added a cup of chocolate chips and 1.5 cups of walnuts to give the brownie a little more texture... Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
These are the best brownies ever, especially if you add in chocolate chips. I was the head cook at a summer camp this year, and these were friday's lunch dessert. Counselors counld hardly wait for fridays and campers loved them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Beamsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
This recipe makes a great looking gift AND a great tasting brownie. I substituted 1/2 cup chocolate chips for the pecans because of a nut allergy. I even forgot to add the chocolate chips in my tester recipe and they're still delicious. We made the jars at my 8 year old's birthday party, so I mixed the ingredients a little differently than stated to try to avoid the messy cocoa problems, and called it Zebra Brownie Mix. I put 1/3 cup cocoa and 1/2 cup flour (plus the baking powder and salt); then one cup sugar (we decreased the recipe by 1/4 cup); next 1 cup sugar and 1/3 cup cocoa; fourth was 3/4 cup flour; then the chocolate chips at the top. I separated the five layers into Sharpie-numbered ziploc baggies for each of the girls at the party so they just had to pour them in (no measuring). Use a wide mouth quart jar and funnel and pack each layer by pounding on the bottom of the jar before adding the next layer. They turned out great and the kids loved it. On the back of the cooking instructions tag I put "Zebra Brownie Mix contains:" and listed the layered ingredients so they can duplicate the recipe since it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
I had lost my recipe for this one. glad I was able to find it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
Excellent! I used an air insulated pan which helped even out the baking and kept them nice and fudgy. Also, if you don't have a lot of jars around, try using the "disposable" plastic containers. They come in 1 quart sizes, and you can still layer - they're just harder to decorate. For close friends and family (especially guys) that will appreciate whats inside more than the outside appearance, it's a great alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
its ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WIFENMUMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Lemon Kissed Brownie Bites

See how to make delectable brownie bites with just a hint of lemon.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States