Brownie Mix in a Jar II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I was disappointed in the turn out of how it looked in the jar. all white with just a small layer of the cocoa. and putting the nuts on top you couldn't even see them! I went to a totally different recipe all together. the photo is completely misleading also. I made this as a gift but I'm going to cut my losses and bake them for my family instead. hope they at least taste good. I would recommend that you don't waste your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I make it for Christmas, Birthdays, or any kind of party. It takes ten minutes and it's delicious..... Its a life saver
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sawyer Potter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy Neubecker
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
5 stars but only with the following changes. For the jar itself I mixed together flour, sugar, salt and baking powder and then added 1 cup of the white ingredients to the cocoa. Then I layered with 1/2 cup flour mix and a heaping 1/3 cup of the cocoa mix. After each layer, tap jar on counter to remove air bubbles and wipe inside of jar with paper towel. This makes 4 layers of flour mix and 4 layers of cocoa mix. I topped with 1/2 cup chocolate chips and left out the nuts due to nut allergies. To make this jar look nice you will need patience and not mind a messy counter. You might breath in a bit of flour and cocoa dust too. I added a photo for reference. For the recipe itself I used 3 eggs, 1 cup of butter, and 1 teaspoon of vanilla. This mix is going to be a staple in my home from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Neubecker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I tried this recipe and it is SUPER greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice C. Gibb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Very easy and fun to make! I shared this recipe as a DIY Christmas Gift on YouTube. You will most likely want to put this in a mason jar as a gift but be aware you will need a larger container or you will need to use two mason jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Definitely yummy recipe. It is not too powdery like many recipes without chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss Dusty
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Very easy. I'd recommend using wide-mouth jar, as it's easier to press each layer down all around. I shaped and taped a sheet of paper (8.5"x11") into a funnel that fit perfectly into each jar; this made things much easier and much less messy! Even the cocoa powder did not coat the sides (which the recipe warns about).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I was doing a trial run for Christmas gifts am after cracking eggs and mixing dry ingredients realized we had no butter. I used half a cup of vegetable oil and a quarter cup of water and the brownies came out cakey and delicious. I tried it again with the butter and they were moist and fudgy both ways were good. I cook them for 30 minutes. I used 2 cups of sugar and 1 teaspoon of vanilla and half a cup of chocolate chips. I like that the vegetable oil and water is so quick and easy and lower in fat. I layered them in the jar doing flour first and then mixing the Cocoa with 1/2 cup of sugar putting half of that for a brown layer, an additional cup of sugar, rest of brown and remaining 1/2 sugar and chocolate chips on top. Will be great gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I made this one for my friends birthday, and she said it tasted amazing! It's good to be creative and abnosome when decorating the jar. Also make sure it's a glass jar, or else whenever you hold it you will mess up the pattern.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Cut sugar by a quarter cup. Will make again using the original recipe. Nice taste. Used jumbo eggs cause thats what I had. Makes a nice big pan of brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Lemon Kissed Brownie Bites

See how to make delectable brownie bites with just a hint of lemon.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States