Brownie Mix in a Jar II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I made this recipe (with three eggs) along with Sand Art Brownies and I couldn't tell the difference between the two. Both are super easy to do but I preferred the Sand Art because of the stir-ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
The layers were a little boring in the jar but the brownies were wonderful, I used canola oil instead of butter and the brownies were wonderfully chewy. I figured the taste should win over the presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinedale, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Ok a few things. First, the taste definitely gets 5 stars, BUT only with the user recommended changes to the recipe. Those changes are as follows: use 1 c. melted butter, 3 eggs, and 1 teaspoon vanilla(this requires you to change the info on the tag you print; trust me you want to do that, i did a test run and they are sooooooooo good w/ the changes). Also, for the ingrediants in the jar it's fine w/ only 2 c. sugar. OK second, another major problem is getting everything to fit. I used 1 quart wide-mouth canning jars. You HAVE to pack down everything!!!! I found making my hand into a fist and using my knuckles and back of hand to pack down ingrediants works really well.Pack very tight!!!, seriously.In this order,Flour, baking powder, and salt, PACK!, then cocoa, PACK!, then wipe the inside of the jar with a dry paper towel(it gets pretty messy and will make the above sugar look dirty), then put the sugar (packing here helps only a little bit but still do it). *Another reveiwer figured out a clever trick which i will reiterate here "To cut down the "all sugar" look, I layered as follows: flour mixture first, then 1/3 c. cocoa, 1 c. sugar, 1/3 c. cocoa, 1 c. sugar, then the pecans." This works well and looks good, but i ran out of time, so just did the norm way and it looks fine.* Ok by now there is very little room in the jar, even with all that packing. So I basically improvised. I put about 1/4 c each of nuts and choc chips. You could do just one or the other but my point
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I made this today, substituted regular sugar with brown sugar, used the milk & 3 eggs, it was good , but not a chewy brownie like texture, but easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Delhi, Delhi, India
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
This is by far the best brownie recipie I have ever tried. I get asked to make it all the time. Try adding some milk instead of some eggs. Once I found the batter a little on the dry side so I added some milk and the brownies came out softer then ever. Almost exactly like the two-bite brownies you can buy from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
We used this recipe last year to make teacher gifts. This year I have had teachers ask if we are making them again. We used andes mint pieces instead of nuts. awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by qsti
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Great and simple gift-idea! And the result tastes great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by qsti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallinn, Harju, Estonia
Living In: Vantaa, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
Well I made this last night. Turned into a brownie cake of sorts. I melted chocolate chips and poured it along to make a wicker pattern.. Hope the guests like it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Housewife Bilodeau

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I love these brownies! And how easy is the recipe? I have made them using tips suggested by other reviewers - 2 cups of sugar,3 eggs - and they are great! My children love them and they are so moreish.I get asked for the recipe whenever I make them. They look great in the jar as a gift, too. Brownies and the "in a jar" thing aren't as popular or well known here in Australia, except at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I made these to determine if I wanted to give them as gifts in jars. These were very good, very chocolately. If you like dense, chewy brownies, these are not for you. These brownies are more 'cakey.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States