Brownie Mix in a Jar II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I'm planning to make these for an upcoming bazaar sale, so made the recipe beforehand. I had no problems fitting the ingredients into a regular quart mason jar, I had no wide mouth on hand, and the ingredients fit just fine in a regular. The only change I made when preparing the recipe was to substitute an equal amount of vegetable oil for the butter. These turned out perfectly & are delicious! I'm pleased with the recipe & will definately be adding them to the 'recipes in a jar' list for the bazaar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Although I did not make this, I did put it together in a jar, and just so you know, all the ingredients did not fit. I was barely able to fit the sugar, there was no room at all for the pecans. I'm just saying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monique

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I made these as christmas gifts this year. But I improvised a little. Alot of my friends are still single and forcing them to make a whole batch of brownies didnt seem right, so instead I cut the recipe in half and put them in pint jars instead. They are still pretty and i did a test run to see if they would come out and they do. Instead of an 8x8 pan I greased a cupcake/muffin pan and place the brownie mixture in it. They were good and turned out alot better then i had imagined! Great gift and I agree with alot of the other users that the cocoa does stick to the side, I recommend using a funnel or a pastry bag to fill the jars, and when packing them remind yourself that maybe it all wont fit but giving your friends options is alot nicer. I placed walnuts, christmas mnms, and mini chocolate chips in bags and attached them to the jars, so when they made them they had the option to use one, all, or none. Great gift idea that helped the ball roll!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Olga
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
mine turned out a bit dry. More like a cake. Not moist. I would add a cup of chocolate chips to add those melted moist structure to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Just made this (with the following modifications recommended by other reviewers: 1 cup butter, 1 tsp vanilla extract). Not very good. Decent, fixed my chocolate craving, but not something I'd both to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
easy and delicious; when you need a brownie mix and don't have one on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This is a great recipe. We made these in PINT size jars with 30 preschoolers in our MOP's program. It went so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I decided to give this out as gifts this year to some of my friends, but first wanted to make them to see how they tasted. Both my husband and I thought they were great. I only made 3 minor modifications to the recipe: 1) I used 5 eggs instead of 4 as the batter seemed a little dry to me without the 5th egg 2) I added 1 tsp of vanilla extract and 3) I add about a 1/2 cup of milk chocolate chips into the batter in addition to the nuts. They had good chocolate flavor and were very moist. As far as giving as a gift, I had no problems layering or fitting the ingredients in the jar - you do need to firmly pack each layer before adding the next. Since not everyone likes nuts or may be allergic to them, I packed the nuts separately in a bag and then packed last in the jar. If using the jar method is too much trouble for you, then simply mixing and adding the ingredients into a plastic bag works great too. You can decorate the bag or enclose the bag in some type of other decorative container; just make sure the bag is tightly secured/closed. I've done this method lots of times with "in a jar" type gifts and there are tons of creative opportunities with this method without the hassle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Gray Court, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This made a wonderful gift for one of my friends! She loved it, she said she wanted to go home and make it right away! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
We solved the "not fitting in the jar problem" by mixing all our white ingredients together. Then we took roughly 1 1/2 cups of the combined white mix and added it to the coca. The result was more brown ingredients to layer with the white. Looks way better in the jar. We had to add a handful of chocolate chips to the walnuts & a wee piece of paper towel at the top because there was so much room! They look great! Added Chrismas material with an elastic band, Raffia overtop and a jingle bell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookielips

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States