Brownie Mix in a Jar II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 10, 2001
I was looking for an "in a jar" recipe for teacher gifts at our school. After reading all the reviews for this recipe, I thought it would be the perfect gift. NOT! We used one-quart wide-mouth mason jars as the recipe indicated, however, not all the ingredients fit and all you could see was SUGAR. Not much of a layered look. I was very disappointed. All my volunteers ended up using less sugar and JAMMING the nuts in last, which didn't even fit quite as many as I would have liked. I have yet to taste the recipe, but after all that work, they better be good. Just disappointed. I thought they'd look nicer than they actually do, maybe we did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2001
Makes great brownies and it's so easy to get all the ingresiants in the jar too! Definitely somehting you could give as a present! In fact Im giving it at a shower for my future sister in law!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STRLETT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
Love this recipe!! Thanks for sharing Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
This is the quickest and easiest way to give a holiday gift. Merry christmas bake your own! I LOVE IT! I also made some for my own family and they are the best brownies I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2001
I made this for all of my staff at the office and they all loved it. They were surprised that they were SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2001
This was a wonderful Christmas gift for my co-workers. I suggest that you get the Wide mouth jars, my regular jars made it much harder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
Homemade brownies as good as grandma used to make! Super easy, pretty goof-proof. I sometimes add chocolate chips or the new raspberry chocolate chips, a nice twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
I made these for a baby shower favor, attaching cookie cutters for decoration, and both recipients called me and asked for the recipe. I never tasted them but both women said they were great. I omitted the pecan in one and my friend said she added leftover Halloween Reese's cups to hers. She said they were great with that addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belmond, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2000
This recipe is THE BEST! I was in a pinch for a gift this weekend, so my kids helped me make these for some friends without ever having tried the recipe myself. I made them for my family today and they were GREAT! Realy moist, rich and tasty! The only change I made was I used 1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips instead of pecans. I didn't know if our friends liked nuts, and I didn't want to take a chance. The mini chips worked great. Added flavor and moistness without being overwhelming. I would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2000
Very quick and easy - a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States