Brownie Mix in a Jar II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Wonderful moist very chocolaty Brownies.. I just wanted more nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
These made very tasty brownies! I sent a batch with my husband to work & they were a big hit!! However, as another person mentioned, I wish I had broken up the sugar layer to give it a better look in the jar. Also, I placed a square of fabric on the top of the jar & tied it off with a ribbon--it makes a very nice presentation. You could also attach a small wooden spoon to the ribbon as I've seen done in the stores (they sell these jars for $10!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
This was the first time I tried brownie mix in a jar. It turned out well. I plan to give away as gifts. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
MMMMMMMMMM...DELICIOUS I'M IN LOVVVVVVVVVE I wish i could have this every day but i cant but i can still give it away for gifts and it's simple to do i recamend this to EVERYBODDDDY I'M IN LOVVVVE WHITH IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
I was looking for a jar recipe that didn't contain brown sugar (b.c. it gets hard), but still tasted yummy. Jackpot!! I did a trial run last night after reading the reviews, and I'm very pleased (after making some changes). One reviewer suggested using only 2 c. sugar and 3 eggs (thanks!) & that made it fit in the jar perfectly. To cut down the "all sugar" look, I layered as follows: flour mixture first, then 1/3 c. cocoa, 1 c. sugar, 1/3 c. cocoa, 1 c. sugar, then the pecans. It looked better that way. I used cones I made from printer paper to fill the jar, and after each addition I tapped the jar on the counter to settle the ingredients. When I mixed up the batch to bake, I did add a tsp. vanilla with the 3 eggs. As someone else mentioned, it was a little dry, so I added another 1/4 c melted butter for a total of 1 cup. Just right!! My husband (who doesn't like sweets that much) had 3 in a row! They were very moist and delish. Thanks so much, now I have x-mas gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
288 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
Great to give as a gift. When I was ready to bake these, it was really easy to mix and bake. A good idea for busy mom's to make the jars ahead of time and bake them up later when you are in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
Great idea and recipe! All the recipients wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Augsburg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
I think that the brownies are great, however when I made the jars, the cocoa made them look like a mess. It was seeping into the other layers and I panicked that I had wasted a perfectly good jar. I ended up sticking a chopstick down the side about every inch to make it look like sand art. If I had left it, I wouldn't have even thought of sending it out as a gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
I made this one night late last week when two friends of mine and my fiancee was over. It was soooo good! Everyone gobbled it up before I new it! I left out the nuts, just because I'm not fond of nuts on my brownies. I even had to make them again the next night, our friends practically begged, even helped! The 2nd day we made it i put in a half a cup of milk chocolate chips, it made it taste even better! I will make these up for x-mas this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
This recipe made delicious brownies! Just what I was looking for to satisfy my chocolate craving. I had all the ingredients, but had to half the recipe because I only had a little over one cup of sugar available. We like our brownies more cake-like so I added about 5 Tbsp of water to the batter. Baked it in a 8x8 pan for 30 minutes and they came out wonderfully moist - just the way our family likes it! My children keep asking for more. Too bad we didn't have enough ingredients to bake the brownies in a 9x12 pan. However, I think my waistline is thankful we didn't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Lemon Kissed Brownie Bites

See how to make delectable brownie bites with just a hint of lemon.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States