Brownie Mix in a Jar II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
We plan to give soup and brownie mixes this year for xmas and although I am not a brownie fan, we had to taste-test before giving these as gifts. My family seemed to like them (although I only thought they were okay-but then again, I am biased as I don't really care for brownies in the first place). Therefore, these will be packaged for gifts. Be careful with the cocoa! It can make your jar a mess so I would recommend using a filter and letting it "settle" before wiping the jar clean for the next layer. I'm sure these will be well received!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I though I'd give this recipe a try before gift giving. I modified slightly: increasing butter to 1 cup, adding a teaspoon vanilla, and using a vegetable spray instead of greasing and flouring the pan. I ended up with moist, tasty brownies that came out of the pan easily. Needless to say, several jars of this mix will leave my kitchen as gifts. It is an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Okay, I have GOT to STOP saving all these dessert and treat recipes. It's gonna wind up costing me too much money for new, bigger clothes. LOL This is absolutely the BEST brownie recipe I have ever tried. Hopefully you'll have neighbors to pass half the batch onto. If not, expect to be running out for more milk - which ALWAYS goes with luscious chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richfield Springs, New York, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Wonderful moist very chocolaty Brownies.. I just wanted more nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
These made very tasty brownies! I sent a batch with my husband to work & they were a big hit!! However, as another person mentioned, I wish I had broken up the sugar layer to give it a better look in the jar. Also, I placed a square of fabric on the top of the jar & tied it off with a ribbon--it makes a very nice presentation. You could also attach a small wooden spoon to the ribbon as I've seen done in the stores (they sell these jars for $10!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
This was the first time I tried brownie mix in a jar. It turned out well. I plan to give away as gifts. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
MMMMMMMMMM...DELICIOUS I'M IN LOVVVVVVVVVE I wish i could have this every day but i cant but i can still give it away for gifts and it's simple to do i recamend this to EVERYBODDDDY I'M IN LOVVVVE WHITH IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
I was looking for a jar recipe that didn't contain brown sugar (b.c. it gets hard), but still tasted yummy. Jackpot!! I did a trial run last night after reading the reviews, and I'm very pleased (after making some changes). One reviewer suggested using only 2 c. sugar and 3 eggs (thanks!) & that made it fit in the jar perfectly. To cut down the "all sugar" look, I layered as follows: flour mixture first, then 1/3 c. cocoa, 1 c. sugar, 1/3 c. cocoa, 1 c. sugar, then the pecans. It looked better that way. I used cones I made from printer paper to fill the jar, and after each addition I tapped the jar on the counter to settle the ingredients. When I mixed up the batch to bake, I did add a tsp. vanilla with the 3 eggs. As someone else mentioned, it was a little dry, so I added another 1/4 c melted butter for a total of 1 cup. Just right!! My husband (who doesn't like sweets that much) had 3 in a row! They were very moist and delish. Thanks so much, now I have x-mas gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
294 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
Great to give as a gift. When I was ready to bake these, it was really easy to mix and bake. A good idea for busy mom's to make the jars ahead of time and bake them up later when you are in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
Great idea and recipe! All the recipients wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Augsburg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States