Brownie Mix in a Jar II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
Oh what a wonderful recipies mmmmm chocolatey and moist I did something different I added 1/2 cup of choclate chips to it and added a chocolate glaze I found from another recipie and made it into a death by chocolate recipie!!!!! My hubby loved them!!!!!! Ok now hubby eats these by the panfull!!!! Not only that but by melting in chocolate chips it made the brownie better!! Hubby likes it cause now they have a thin crunchy crust on top then he gets cake then a smooth choclate center then cake again!!! Hubby makes me slave to make em for him. But good a diversion for when baking other stuff at least now he can hover over the pan of brownies while I make my pies and cakes!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sulphur, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
This was a very good and easy recipe to make. I altered it a little bit, I used only 2 cups sugar, 1 cup melted butter, 3 eggs, and 12 cup chocolate chips since I don't care for nuts. I also broke up the cocoa and sugar when layering it in the jars. Thank for that great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
Very good brownies--rich and buttery! Great gift idea! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K DUB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
After years of bought brownie mixes, these are the real deal. They taste like homemade and are perfect for brownie sundaes, topped with ice cream and drizzled hot fudge. Of course they're terrific as is, too. I made up jars for gifts and they were a smash hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I like to give this to new neighbors and include in shower gifts. It's a winner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
I tried these before making them as gifts and they were good, not the best I've ever had but good (not as moist as I like 'em). I used the suggestion from a previous review to use a paper funnel to get the layers into the jar, I also tapped the jar on the counter to even it out before adding the next layer (it also added a pretty "snowfall" effect). I also did Cowboy Cookie Mix in a Jar (also on this site) for Christmas gifts and thought they turned out much prettier than the brownie mix because they have many more different layers and they were much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
These cake-like brownies were tasty, but I was looking for something fudgier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
I made these up and gave several as Christmas gifts. I simplified and just mixed everything together and put in the jars because I just couldn't get them to look nice when I layered the ingredients. I added a homespun jar topper and tied the instructions on with jute, and they looked great. But, the most important thing is everyone says they're the best brownies they've ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
THE best brownie I have ever eaten. I gave the mix to a friend. They agreed. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Exchange, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Ivydale, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
Very pretty gifts! I liked the simplicity of the ingredients. I suggest using a funnel to get the ingredients in the jar and also wide mouth mason jars might make it a little easier too (I used 1 qt. reg mouth mason jars). I covered the lids with country fabric and tied it with jute twine and attached the instructions to the jute. Very cute looking! I hope my family enjoys these handmade gifts this year!!! Thanks Lisa!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States