Brownie Mix in a Jar II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
This recipe makes a great looking gift AND a great tasting brownie. I substituted 1/2 cup chocolate chips for the pecans because of a nut allergy. I even forgot to add the chocolate chips in my tester recipe and they're still delicious. We made the jars at my 8 year old's birthday party, so I mixed the ingredients a little differently than stated to try to avoid the messy cocoa problems, and called it Zebra Brownie Mix. I put 1/3 cup cocoa and 1/2 cup flour (plus the baking powder and salt); then one cup sugar (we decreased the recipe by 1/4 cup); next 1 cup sugar and 1/3 cup cocoa; fourth was 3/4 cup flour; then the chocolate chips at the top. I separated the five layers into Sharpie-numbered ziploc baggies for each of the girls at the party so they just had to pour them in (no measuring). Use a wide mouth quart jar and funnel and pack each layer by pounding on the bottom of the jar before adding the next layer. They turned out great and the kids loved it. On the back of the cooking instructions tag I put "Zebra Brownie Mix contains:" and listed the layered ingredients so they can duplicate the recipe since it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
I had lost my recipe for this one. glad I was able to find it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
Excellent! I used an air insulated pan which helped even out the baking and kept them nice and fudgy. Also, if you don't have a lot of jars around, try using the "disposable" plastic containers. They come in 1 quart sizes, and you can still layer - they're just harder to decorate. For close friends and family (especially guys) that will appreciate whats inside more than the outside appearance, it's a great alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
its ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WIFENMUMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
I'm sure I didn't do anything wrong in the making process. But this brownie isn't that great,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
I halfed this recipe and made it for myself to test it before I gave it to friends. It was very yummy. I am already thinking of people I can give this mix too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
This recipe was aswsome! It was very moist and creamy. I did with a 4-H cooking group. The girls said it was delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
This is the best brownie mix I've ever come across to in my years of baking. My family and friends really loved it! I followed what the others suggested -- that of using 1 cup of butter instead of 3/4. I also added a chocolate glaze on top using a cup of melted chocolate and 1 cup condensed milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
I made these for 25 people for Christmas. They loved it! Thank you for a fab recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
I gave these as gifts at christmas. They were a big hit! Great flavor but, I didn't like the look of the layers-even after wiping the jar between layers-it still looked messy. I took the handle of a wooden spoon and pushed it down between the jar and the layers. It looked more festive-like sand art. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Kissed Brownie Bites

See how to make delectable brownie bites with just a hint of lemon.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States