Brownie Mix in a Jar II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Being a brownie girl, I had to try it before making this for a Christmas gift. AWESOME!!! I used 1 cup butter, 1 cup flour and added 2 tablespoons each of butterscotch and chocolate chips. Also, if you don't think your recipient will want to use that much butter, half the recipe and put it in a pint jar! This recipe definitely gets 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I make it for Christmas, Birthdays, or any kind of party. It takes ten minutes and it's delicious..... Its a life saver
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sawyer Potter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy Neubecker
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
5 stars but only with the following changes. For the jar itself I mixed together flour, sugar, salt and baking powder and then added 1 cup of the white ingredients to the cocoa. Then I layered with 1/2 cup flour mix and a heaping 1/3 cup of the cocoa mix. After each layer, tap jar on counter to remove air bubbles and wipe inside of jar with paper towel. This makes 4 layers of flour mix and 4 layers of cocoa mix. I topped with 1/2 cup chocolate chips and left out the nuts due to nut allergies. To make this jar look nice you will need patience and not mind a messy counter. You might breath in a bit of flour and cocoa dust too. I added a photo for reference. For the recipe itself I used 3 eggs, 1 cup of butter, and 1 teaspoon of vanilla. This mix is going to be a staple in my home from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Neubecker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I tried this recipe and it is SUPER greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice C. Gibb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Very easy and fun to make! I shared this recipe as a DIY Christmas Gift on YouTube. You will most likely want to put this in a mason jar as a gift but be aware you will need a larger container or you will need to use two mason jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Definitely yummy recipe. It is not too powdery like many recipes without chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss Dusty
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Very easy. I'd recommend using wide-mouth jar, as it's easier to press each layer down all around. I shaped and taped a sheet of paper (8.5"x11") into a funnel that fit perfectly into each jar; this made things much easier and much less messy! Even the cocoa powder did not coat the sides (which the recipe warns about).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I was doing a trial run for Christmas gifts am after cracking eggs and mixing dry ingredients realized we had no butter. I used half a cup of vegetable oil and a quarter cup of water and the brownies came out cakey and delicious. I tried it again with the butter and they were moist and fudgy both ways were good. I cook them for 30 minutes. I used 2 cups of sugar and 1 teaspoon of vanilla and half a cup of chocolate chips. I like that the vegetable oil and water is so quick and easy and lower in fat. I layered them in the jar doing flour first and then mixing the Cocoa with 1/2 cup of sugar putting half of that for a brown layer, an additional cup of sugar, rest of brown and remaining 1/2 sugar and chocolate chips on top. Will be great gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I made this one for my friends birthday, and she said it tasted amazing! It's good to be creative and abnosome when decorating the jar. Also make sure it's a glass jar, or else whenever you hold it you will mess up the pattern.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Cut sugar by a quarter cup. Will make again using the original recipe. Nice taste. Used jumbo eggs cause thats what I had. Makes a nice big pan of brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Lemon Kissed Brownie Bites

See how to make delectable brownie bites with just a hint of lemon.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States