Brownie Mix-Black Bean Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I was totally surprised at how fudgy and moist these brownies were. My 8 year old grandson ate one, and loved it! I used A sugar free brownie mix because my husband is diabetic, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Ironically, I tried this recipe on April Fool's Day! I coach a youth running program and I thought how funny to make brownies that were actually somewhat healthy for them. Most of the kids would be mortified to think they ate and liked black beans. Tried it out this am and it is AMAZING! Decadent tasting and chock full of fiber-filled, healthy beans! The kids will never know but I think I'll make the parents' April Fools Day by letting them in on my little culinary secret. These will become my go to brownie! Thank you! (make sure you mix the beans and water very thoroughly before adding the brownie mix - I used a blender for this then transferred into a mixer). What a great, secret recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Yum! Served this at a 4th of July picnic and everyone loved them. No one could believe that there was a can of black beans in the mix. Fast & easy to make, too! Used low sodium black beans and blended in the Nutribullet. Worked great! Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
So easy! I used 1 tablespoon of espresso powder dissolved into 1/3 cup water plus a teaspoon of vanilla extract instead of 1 cup plain water. I baked the batter in an eight inch square pan. My very picky family enjoyed the fudgy chocolatey brownie that resulted. I find that coffee enhances the chocolate flavor very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia Deaton Glover
Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I searched for a recipe like this because my 11yo said, "I'm glad you're not one of those moms who tries to sneak healthy stuff into my junk food." Challenge accepted. (1) Neither child had any clue there were beans. (2) They have both declared this "better than the old version". Note, they didn't say the "usual version". The consistency really is more like fudge--there's nothing cake-like about the texture--but that was no problem whatsoever in this household. That 13x9 pan will likely be gone in under 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Sooooo good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Very tasty! I did use the whole bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NancyLou
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Very good! As a personal preference, I mixed all my chips into the batter. Almost tastes like there's pudding in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
Fudgey, dense texture, good way to add fibre to a dessert and it's fun to tell people there were beans in their brownies. I substituted cold coffee for the water. I used an organic brownie mix (no trans fat, less sugar, no nasty additives) which made these a less-junky treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
I was skeptical at first, but these turned out much better than expected. I used Ghirardelli Triple Chocolate mix in an 8x8 pan and skipped the additional chocolate chips, since the mix already included chocolate chips. The brownies had a fudgey, very slight springy texture, and no trace of black bean flavor or texture. A delicious and healthier brownie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace Preya.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States