Brownie Mix-Black Bean Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Ironically, I tried this recipe on April Fool's Day! I coach a youth running program and I thought how funny to make brownies that were actually somewhat healthy for them. Most of the kids would be mortified to think they ate and liked black beans. Tried it out this am and it is AMAZING! Decadent tasting and chock full of fiber-filled, healthy beans! The kids will never know but I think I'll make the parents' April Fools Day by letting them in on my little culinary secret. These will become my go to brownie! Thank you! (make sure you mix the beans and water very thoroughly before adding the brownie mix - I used a blender for this then transferred into a mixer). What a great, secret recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Very tasty! I did use the whole bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I was totally surprised at how fudgy and moist these brownies were. My 8 year old grandson ate one, and loved it! I used A sugar free brownie mix because my husband is diabetic, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Sooooo good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Yum! Served this at a 4th of July picnic and everyone loved them. No one could believe that there was a can of black beans in the mix. Fast & easy to make, too! Used low sodium black beans and blended in the Nutribullet. Worked great! Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Cant believe these are low fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMR12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Loved it! And ohh so filling, trying to shed a few more pounds and these will surely help to keep me feeling full :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I searched for a recipe like this because my 11yo said, "I'm glad you're not one of those moms who tries to sneak healthy stuff into my junk food." Challenge accepted. (1) Neither child had any clue there were beans. (2) They have both declared this "better than the old version". Note, they didn't say the "usual version". The consistency really is more like fudge--there's nothing cake-like about the texture--but that was no problem whatsoever in this household. That 13x9 pan will likely be gone in under 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
They are a little too dense for me, so I think I'll add at least one egg per the box directions next time. I also recommend using the full cup of chocolate chips. I only used 1/2 a cup and they weren't as sweet as normal - I think the chocolate helps add back some of the sweetness that the beans take away. Definitely good enough to try again with a couple of modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
So easy! I used 1 tablespoon of espresso powder dissolved into 1/3 cup water plus a teaspoon of vanilla extract instead of 1 cup plain water. I baked the batter in an eight inch square pan. My very picky family enjoyed the fudgy chocolatey brownie that resulted. I find that coffee enhances the chocolate flavor very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia Deaton Glover
Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Chunky Cheesecake Brownies

Decadent, rich, chocolaty dessert that's a combination of brownies and cheesecake

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States