Brownie In a Mug Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Tankyy have I told you how much I love you?!!! I've made this several times now playing with it each time. Great for those chocolate cravings and there is nothing in the house kinda fix. I think I have it down. Add a drop of vanilla ,use canola oil and top with chips such as chocolate or caramel. Let sit for several minutes and top with vanilla ice cream. This is a gooey chocolate wonder! Thanks so much for sharing this delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Party Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I didn't want to bake these in the oven, and it was too cloudy to cook in the solar oven, so I steamed these. I doubled the recipe, using gluten free flour, and half the amount of honey as I would have used if I had used sugar. I steamed the double batch in 3 egg poaching cups.steaming for 20 minutes. They are heavy and dense with great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Decided to try this recipe since I was having a chocolate craving and this sounded like a quick and easy sweet to solve it. It was very easy to make and does fit perfectly into a standard size mug. However I found it to taste more like warm chocolate flavored flour with sweetener than the brownie I was looking forward to. I was very disappointed. It's a great idea, but the final product just does not live up to its full pan counterpart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingArtStudent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Perfect for those chocolate cravings. Definitely use vegetable oil instead of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I've tried quite a few mug cake recipes and this is by far the best. If you're expecting traditional brownie taste/texture, you'll probably be disappointed, but c'mon, this is a 100 second microwave recipe!!! I took the other reviewers' recommendations and did not use olive oil - I used butter instead, well clarified butter to be specific. I also added a splash of vanilla extract. When it was done, I took a taste and was immediately impressed. It was slightly crumbly, so I poked holes in the top with a chopstick and drizzled half and half over it. To die for!!!! The next time I made it I only cooked it for 1 min 30 secs and that was perfect. Thanks for the great recipe Tankyy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Veg oil instead of olive oil, dash of vanilla absolute bliss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ride54522

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I was pretty disappointed with this recipe. I wasn't a thick dense cake but more of a thick mush. Also the taste of olive oil was overwhelming. It did taste like chocolate though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Airca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
My husband didn't want to do the dishes for brownies tonight, so we looked up this recipe, and we don't regret a thing! This is very yummy, fast, and just as good as brownies that come from the oven. But %100 better than brownies you get from a microwave dinner. You won't regret making this brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by {Bree}

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I just made this. The kids are LOVING it. I did add choc chips, and a dash of vanilla and no Olive oil so I used Veg oil. For my taste these are ok, Probably wont make for myself again, ut a quick fix for the kids for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
My kids love this when the pantry is bare.. I will use real butter if I'm out of vegetable oil. I always add a couple drops of vanilla and 1/4 cup of water. and since we have been making this for years I have learned microwaves will vary the time. So I cook till the sides start to Crack a lil and the middle is almost done..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Lemon Kissed Brownie Bites

See how to make delectable brownie bites with just a hint of lemon.

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States