Brownie In a Mug Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I didn't want to bake these in the oven, and it was too cloudy to cook in the solar oven, so I steamed these. I doubled the recipe, using gluten free flour, and half the amount of honey as I would have used if I had used sugar. I steamed the double batch in 3 egg poaching cups.steaming for 20 minutes. They are heavy and dense with great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
These are great for those moments when nothing but a rich, chocolatey brownie will do! I didn't care for the taste the olive oil gave, so I used canola oil instead; I plan to try melted butter one of these days. I reduced the sugar to 3 tablespoons, and it only took 50 seconds in the microwave. I topped it with a little peanut butter--pure bliss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Decided to try this recipe since I was having a chocolate craving and this sounded like a quick and easy sweet to solve it. It was very easy to make and does fit perfectly into a standard size mug. However I found it to taste more like warm chocolate flavored flour with sweetener than the brownie I was looking forward to. I was very disappointed. It's a great idea, but the final product just does not live up to its full pan counterpart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingArtStudent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I was skeptical about brownie in a mug. I had a major brownie craving and decided I had nothing to lose. It actually turned out really well considering its made in a mug for a minute and 40 seconds. Room for improvement of course. Still very good and it solved my brownie fix problem. I might add melted butter next time too. Very much a keeper and kids would LOVE LOVE LOVE it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gardner, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I was pretty disappointed with this recipe. I wasn't a thick dense cake but more of a thick mush. Also the taste of olive oil was overwhelming. It did taste like chocolate though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Airca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Took care of my chocolate craving in a pinch, but wasn't as sweet as brownies and did have an olive oil flavor. And looking at the ingredients/calories it's just not worth it! For these calories I could have Ben and Jerry's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
It didn't work with me :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I doubled the recipe, but also added 1/2 tsp vanilla to it for flavor. It made it 10 times better. You can also add canola oil instead of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I liked this. Though second thinking it, seems to be that it should say vegetable oil instead of olive oil. I would make this again but not the same way exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
this one was okay I used vegtable oil instead if olive and added a little more sugar.i think it would be better if you put a few chocolate chips in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Lemon Kissed Brownie Bites

See how to make delectable brownie bites with just a hint of lemon.

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States