Brownie Crackles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JamieB
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
You don't need extra flour. I made these exactly as the recipe states and they turned out wonderfully. Using a cookie dough scoop or spoon, spoon cookie dough into a medium shallow dish full of powdered sugar. I can usually get 4-5 spoonfulls in at once. Then, using another spoon, spoon powdered sugar in the bowl on top of the clumps of dough. Use your fingers to roll the clumps in the powdered sugar and then place each onto the baking sheet. Doing this I didn't get a single bit of chocolate on my hands and didn't have to revise the recipe. I used a brownie mix that had the chocolate syrup to add to the mixture. The powdered sugar is a MUST - it's what makes the cookie IMO. I have gotten raves about these cookies and am asked to make them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
These are great, and so super-easy. I omitted the chocolate chips, added 1/2 cup of sour cream and reduced the water by half. As a hint: I've tried several different brownie mixes and oddly, the best batches I've made were when I used the Walmart brand fudge brownie mix. Taste and texture were just perfect, whereas the other brands really couldn't compare. Strange, I know, but give it a try. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
INGREDIENTS: Follow ingredients EXACTLY and cookies are great! PREP: Gave it 4 stars b/c prep needed tweaking. I used a cookie scoop and chilled the dough overnight at others suggestion (worked like a charm). Also if you gently flatten the tops with a solid spatula (a spatula without slits) abt halfway through baking time they look nicer when they're done. BAKE TIME: I'd say bake time is probably more like 10-12 min. (normal to hot oven 10min bake time... maybe 12 min for slightly cooler oven) TIP: Telling when these are done is tough. What i did was a spatula test. If i tried to take them off of the sheet and it started to smoosh them i waited a little longer. As soon as they are just set enough to be removed with a spatula without affecting their shape they are ready! Hope this helps:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
My husband loved these! I honestly would have loved them more without the chocolate chips, but I am weird like that. I do have one tip for keeping them from spreading out too much: bake the cookies on parchment paper rather than a greased cookie sheet. They still come off smoothly but with rounded edges versus the flattened edges from the greased cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shortcake3210

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This recipe is absolutely perfect!! Very delicious! Nothing else like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This rates 5 stars for taste. However, using an 18.3 oz. package of fudge brownie mix, I had to add 2 1/2 cups of flour to get a batter which I could scoop and roll. This made it a bit stiff so next time I'll only use 2 1/4 cups of flour (at 2 cups of flour, the batter was still too thin). Also, I can't wait to try the recipe again and use raisins instead of chocolate chips. Oh...with the addition of the flour, it made 67 cookies! Terrific as I now have some to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Very very good! This recipe was just what I was looking for. The chocolate chips make the cookie even better than I remember. The only advice I have it to chill the dough for at least 3 hours (or overnight, if possible) to make it easier to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souper Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Depoe Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
this recipe was amazing my entire family loved it, they want me to make more and more and when we ran out there was dissapointment, i advise that everyone try them they are deliciouse and the chocolate chips really add to the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I prefer a thicker cookie. So the one cup of all-purpose flour didn't cut it for me. I used 2 cups of all purpose flour. Because the batter was still pretty thin I put the batter directly on the baking sheet rather than "rolling" the batter in the confectioners sugar. After the dough drops were on the pan, I used my powdered sugar shaker to thoroughly coat the tops of the uncooked cookies. This allows the cookies to still have the crackle top without the mess of trying to "roll" thin batter in sugar. I also increased my baking time from 8-10 minutes to 16 minutes, turning the pan half way through. I hope these suggestions are helpful to you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
THESE ARE WONDERFUL!! A GREAT GREAT COOKIE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States