Brownie Caramel Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I made this cheesecake for my co-workers and they love it. The only thing I did different is put the brownie cheesecake in the springpan then submerge it in boiing water while it cooked. It kept the brownie moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Well, there's so many reviews about this recipe that if anybody actually falls upon reading this, I'll be so happy! I'm giving this recipe a one star, and ONLY because I think that it hasn't been tested properly. IMO there' a MAJOR MISTAKE in this recipe. Nearly everyone's complained about the caramel running out of the cake. Here's why. 5 OUNCES OF EVAPORATED MILK IS WAY TOO MUCH. That's roughly 2/3 of a cup! No wonder it oozes out! Use 1/4 cup of evaporated milk with 14 ounces of caramels. And if adding chopped pecans, add 1-1/4 cups, that will also help the caramel stay put. Also I think that this recipe should just say "9 ounces of packaged brownie mix, prepare as directed on package".... no wonder so many people have messed it up.. lol... I bet they're adding an extra egg and water to the mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miakoda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This cake is delious! Even if your not a chocolate person like me, but it's worth the try. Next time I'll make the bottom be a blondie instead of a brownie because I found the brownie bottom to be very overpowering. I added nuts and they made this even better, more caramel sauce is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
this recipe was amazing! i made the bottom brownie base with my own homemade brownie recipe as opposed to the box because i figured it would come out hard after being baked and then baked again. everyone loved and i will definitely be making this again! thank you for the recipe jackie :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Must have doen something wrong- didn't turn out at all. Ended up dumping it. Won't try it again- will stick with my other cheesecake recipes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Touche'
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Excellent Cheesecake eventhough I just knew that the brownie crust was going to be hard and gummy but I was totally surprised. It was perfect. The only thing that I was not crazy about was the thiness of the caramel in between the crust and cheesecake. Next time I will double that. I will also double the amount of cheesecake I thought that layer was a little slim. Other than that it was a happy ending to a great meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Touche'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I used Ghirardelli brownie mix and I made it according to the package instruction. I baked it for 10-15 minutes and it turned out great, not difficult to cut. I followed the suggestion of another by using 3 cream cheese, 3/4C sugar,1 1/2 t. vanilla & 3 eggs. I wasn't able to find the caramel candy to melt, so I substituted the cream caramels and it turned out well. I will make this many more times; it was a big hit at Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I really wanted to love this but it was a total disaster. I'm not a master cheesecaker but I've made many successful cheesecakes in the past, so it isn't like I'm completely clueless or anything. I followed a lot of recommendations (and I'm glad I did): added half to the cheesecake part, cooked the crust longer, used a little less caramel. The crust was great--not too hard at all. The biggest problem was that the caramel crept up the side of the pan, making the top of the cake look hideous. But even worse, once the cake cooled, that caramel was like super glue! I couldn't even get my springform pan to open. Once I did, it just tore the cake apart. I love the idea of this cheesecake and the taste was great. Next time, I'll skip the inside caramel layer and just add caramel to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I only gave this recipe 3 stars because i found it a little hard to cut and get out of the pan. And although it was very tasty it was very sweet and i could not finish even a small piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
family really enjoyed this recipe. i personally didnt think it was that great and the reason is that the crust was mushy and i havent figured out how to prevent that with cheesecakes. also, the caramel layer sticks to the sides of the pan making it difficult to get out. easy recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States