Brownie Caramel Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Very disspointing! Didn't have a disaster like others did (thanks to everyone who shared their experience, expertise and wisdom) but it simply wasn't good. Don't get me wrong, it was edible and that's why I gave it three stars. I did not like the thick, dense consistency of either the brownie nor the cheesecake (reminded me of peanutbutter). Flavorwise was ok. I only used half of the caramel called for and it was still too sweet (and by the way, when you pour the caramel, leave one inch clear and free around and then spoon the batter by starting at the edge) I will not try again, and if I do, I will bake them separately and paste them together with the caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This is a pretty good recipe. I have been wanting to make it for quite a while. I used a 10 oz. package of brownie mix. Keep in mind when you make this that the brownie is as thick, if not more than the cheesecake layer. My brownie rose more in the middle than the sides so I let my caramel thicken before pouring it on so it wouldn't all run to the sides. The tricky part is putting the cheesecake mixture on top of the caramel. What caramel I did have in the middle was pushed to the sides when I carefully spread the mixture over the top. I baked following the directions and my brownie was not chewy as many described. I had a nice fluffy brownie on the bottom. My caramel hardened a bit because it was mostly pressed against the sides of the springform pan but this was still a good cheesecake. I would recommend this recipe, but just keep in mind it can be tricky and may not come as exactly like the main photo.....at least your first time around unless you are really, really good. I am not sure how they maintained that stick perfect layer of caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This would have been fabulous if I had followed the directions. I wanted to make this, but did not have any caramels. I did; however, have a jar of caramel sauce, and figured that would be a good enough substitute. It was not. After baking the brownie crust, I poured on the sauce and noticed it coming out of the bottom of the pan. I poured the filling on and placed it on a baking sheet, hoping that some of the caramel would remain in the middle. Considering how much was burned on the baking sheet, I don't think much remained in the cheesecake. I did let it cool and then drizzled with extra caramel and chocolate. It still tastes great - just not enough caramel flavor. My fault - and I will do it right next time. For now, we will enjoy this one and just pour the caramel on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
The concept of this cheesecake is great, it did taste pretty good, but the cheesecake layer left something to be desired. I used Bombshell brownies from this site (scaled to 6 servings), and the carmel sauce was great, but the cheesecake, not so good. I'll probably try this recipe again, but using a different cheesecake recipe for the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Absolutely delicious! the brownie on the bottom makes a huge difference, although there was a little too much caramel, so I'll remember to add less next time. The brownie should be baked less, according to other suggestions. However, there was too much caramel in between the two layers, and next time, i'll remember to use less. Also the brownies were a little too chewy ( and i normally love chewy brownies! but it just doesn't work as well with cheesecake). It's hard to neatly cut this and serve it, but delicious nonetheless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Made this for large family gatherings a few times. It is always a BIG hit with everyone. A little sweet but very worth the sugar rush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
AMAZING! This was my first attempt at cheesecake and it was so so good. I used peanut butter brownie mix and baked it for 18 min. rather than 25. Rather than melting carmels and milk, i just used Smuckers carmel syrup, keeping it about a 1/2 inch from the edge. When I baked the cheescake I put a pan of water in the rack below to prevent cracking. When it was done baking I turned the oven off and let the cake cool in there with the door slightly ajar for about 1 hour. After that i placed it in the fridge until it was completely cool. It turned out so well and everyone loved it, I am defintely making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I followed most of the suggestions by baking the crust for only 15 minutes. Instead of making the carmel mixture, I bought some carmel topping and used that instead. The layer of cream cheese right above the carmel came out a lil funny. Wish I would've followed that part of the recipe or omitted the carmel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Tastes much better on the second day. Only problem I had was caramel came out VERY runny. Tasted good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
YUM! This was a delicious dessert! Although, I didn't read the 9 oz brownie mix until I had mixed up 19 oz! (standard box). SO, I doubled te liquid ingredients and went with it. It turned out great, just a really thick chocolate crust, but how bad could that be! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States