Brownie Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
I didn't bother with dissolving the cocoa and the yeast, just put everything in the pan according to manufacturer's directions (for my machine, liquid, flour, then yeast on top). My one complaint is that even though it rose nicely, it didn't expand to touch both ends of my rectangular pan. Be sure to scrape the sides and corners of the pan, especially if you have a rectangular pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
One of my favourite recipes to bring to a potluck -- it's so unusual, and I always get raves. No one can believe it came out of a bread machine. I've made it several times, and it always comes out perfectly. Just be sure to cool the cocoa and boiling water before adding them to the machine, or the heat will kill the yeast. I will agree with other reviewers that you can't expect a brownie or a piece of cake when you eat this. It's less sweet, less dessert-like. It's especially great for when you want something special and different and interesting, but not sugary. In the words of one of my friends: "This doesn't know if it's bread or cake. I'm eating food with an identity disorder!" I love it for that, but apparently not everyone does. Definitely worth a try though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Sackville, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Deliciously different! I added a little more sugar to mine and it still wasn't very sweet. Tasted like a homemade loaf of bread with a hint of cocoa as an after-taste. My 8yo loved it! Next time I might try adding chocolate chips to the mix for more of a sweet chocolate taste. Thanks for the yummy post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Very good! Both my fiance and I loved it! I don't have a bread machine, so I just made it by hand, like I normally make my bread. More or less followed the given directions of mixing the cocoa and water and the yeast and water, but instead of just throwing everything together, I added 1c of the flour to the yeast water after it sat for a bit, then added the sugar, salt, and oil. After mixing that, I added the chocolate, mixed and added two whole eggs. Then I started adding the rest of the flour, about 1/2 c at a time, until I hit the 3c mark. It was still a little sticky at this point, so I added a few T more, until I could handle the dough. Kneaded the bread as much as I could, but not as much as usual. I put it in a loaf pan and let it rise in a warm oven until it had more or less doubled, then preheated the oven to 375 and baked it for about 25 minutes, although there is a small amount in the middle of the loaf that seems like it didn't cook completely through, and the top is rather dark, so maybe 350 for 30 minutes would have been better. Definitely would try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Physicser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This is an excellent bread. I followed the directions, except used a tablespoon of water instead of the egg yolk. Turned out light, sweet and chocolatey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
While the basic idea of the bread was good I made some of my own changes that I think added to the overall texture and taste. 1/4C of Cocoa and water, 2 1/2tsp Yeast, 1/2C sugar, 2/3C warm water, closer to 4 cups of flour, 1tbsp vanilla, one lunchable size chocolate pudding, 1tsp salt, 2tbsp of oil, and 1 egg. I placed in my bread machine according to directions and then put it on the DOUGH cycle. When completed I took the dough out, punched it down on a floured countertop (it was quite sticky), split it in half (makes 2 smaller loaves or one big loaf), placed in greased bread pans in a warm oven for 30 minutes. Warm oven up to 350 and cook for 25 minutes. I made this this morning and my mom and I have already eaten half a loaf because it is SO good. While it certainly does not taste like brownies, it was moist, filling, and has a delicious chocolaty after taste! It also makes the house smell amazing... I will certainly make this bread again with the changes as it will be AMAZING with a peanutbutter banana sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Very bland. Maybe next time I will add some nuts and chips when the beeper goes off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
this was stodgy and hard. not nice at all. infact, this is the only form of chocolate that my 2 yr old daughter has ever turned down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Hmmm... I'm not sure I get the point of this bread. It hardly tastes chocolately and it isn't sweet so why not just make plain bread. Or real brownies. Just not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
I used freshly ground hard white whole wheat flour. I needed to add an extra 1/3 cup for proper hydration. I mixed it in my bread maker but baked it in two bread pans in the oven. The bread rose high and beautifully light. It made two one-pound loaves. I used slightly less sugar (about 1/2 cup) and left out the one egg yolk. I froze the second loaf for later. The chocolate and sweetness are subtle. Don't expect it to taste like a brownie. My husband and I loved this special treat bread. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndie Murray Hamley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States