Brownie Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
I didn't bother with dissolving the cocoa and the yeast, just put everything in the pan according to manufacturer's directions (for my machine, liquid, flour, then yeast on top). My one complaint is that even though it rose nicely, it didn't expand to touch both ends of my rectangular pan. Be sure to scrape the sides and corners of the pan, especially if you have a rectangular pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
I didn't make this in a bread machine, but it rose nicely in a 9 x 5 pan. I added about 1/8 c. extra sugar and 2 T. gluten. I didn't think that it was sweet enough or really very chocolately, but I think if I want that sort of thing, I should make a quick bread. My husband loved this bread though. He said it was great toasted with peanut butter or honey. To each his/her own...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
I used freshly ground hard white whole wheat flour. I needed to add an extra 1/3 cup for proper hydration. I mixed it in my bread maker but baked it in two bread pans in the oven. The bread rose high and beautifully light. It made two one-pound loaves. I used slightly less sugar (about 1/2 cup) and left out the one egg yolk. I froze the second loaf for later. The chocolate and sweetness are subtle. Don't expect it to taste like a brownie. My husband and I loved this special treat bread. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDIEGRAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Hmmm... I'm not sure I get the point of this bread. It hardly tastes chocolately and it isn't sweet so why not just make plain bread. Or real brownies. Just not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
The bread came out quite chocolatey for us, and would have been very good except it had an almost bitter aftertaste. Personally, I think its from the large amount of cocoa powder, but it may be that mine was old. Either way, this isn't a recipe that will be entering my beloved collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
this was stodgy and hard. not nice at all. infact, this is the only form of chocolate that my 2 yr old daughter has ever turned down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oldielocks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guthrie, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Its not that sweet at all, but its really good. It reminds me of the bread you get at Black Angus. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
The bread was fantastic. It was just a little sweet, but it was excellent with butter or served with a meal. A very flavorful, hearty bread. It's one of my new favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haronno

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
One of my favourite recipes to bring to a potluck -- it's so unusual, and I always get raves. No one can believe it came out of a bread machine. I've made it several times, and it always comes out perfectly. Just be sure to cool the cocoa and boiling water before adding them to the machine, or the heat will kill the yeast. I will agree with other reviewers that you can't expect a brownie or a piece of cake when you eat this. It's less sweet, less dessert-like. It's especially great for when you want something special and different and interesting, but not sugary. In the words of one of my friends: "This doesn't know if it's bread or cake. I'm eating food with an identity disorder!" I love it for that, but apparently not everyone does. Definitely worth a try though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Sackville, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States