Brownie Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Very bland. Maybe next time I will add some nuts and chips when the beeper goes off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
The idea of chocolate flavored bread is somewhat weird, but toasted with a smear of peanut butter makes this bread interesting. I had hoped it would be sweeter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShirleyMay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This is an excellent bread. I followed the directions, except used a tablespoon of water instead of the egg yolk. Turned out light, sweet and chocolatey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
Crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dajana K.
Reviewed: May 13, 2007
The bread rised very well, however I had to put more flour. I used only one egg and added chocolate chips. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trencín, Trenciansky Kraj, Slovakia
Living In: Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Deliciously different! I added a little more sugar to mine and it still wasn't very sweet. Tasted like a homemade loaf of bread with a hint of cocoa as an after-taste. My 8yo loved it! Next time I might try adding chocolate chips to the mix for more of a sweet chocolate taste. Thanks for the yummy post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
One of my favourite recipes to bring to a potluck -- it's so unusual, and I always get raves. No one can believe it came out of a bread machine. I've made it several times, and it always comes out perfectly. Just be sure to cool the cocoa and boiling water before adding them to the machine, or the heat will kill the yeast. I will agree with other reviewers that you can't expect a brownie or a piece of cake when you eat this. It's less sweet, less dessert-like. It's especially great for when you want something special and different and interesting, but not sugary. In the words of one of my friends: "This doesn't know if it's bread or cake. I'm eating food with an identity disorder!" I love it for that, but apparently not everyone does. Definitely worth a try though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Sackville, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
The bread was fantastic. It was just a little sweet, but it was excellent with butter or served with a meal. A very flavorful, hearty bread. It's one of my new favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haronno

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Its not that sweet at all, but its really good. It reminds me of the bread you get at Black Angus. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States