Brownie Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This bread was SOOOO GOOD. The only thing I did was to make it with all whole wheat flour and both whole eggs. The bread was a nice dense bread - but light at the same time (I'm not sure if that makes sense). It was versatile - I was expecting the chocolate to make it a bread only good for butter or jam... But my kids were dipping it in carrot and ginger soup... The chocolate is a nice balance - it's not overpowering - if you eat it alone the chocolate comes out nicely - but it's not so much (like I said) that you can't enjoy it with a cup of soup or for a sandwich. I really really liked this bread - my kids loved it too!!! It was gone in hours... I'm making it again - but lots of loaves that I'll freeze so we'll have it. But keep in mind like other reviewers mentioned. This is bread - it's not a brownie - it's not ooey gooey sticky sweet... It's a nice bread. If you want a dessert, make the brownies... If you want a nice bread - this will do perfectly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Very good! Both my fiance and I loved it! I don't have a bread machine, so I just made it by hand, like I normally make my bread. More or less followed the given directions of mixing the cocoa and water and the yeast and water, but instead of just throwing everything together, I added 1c of the flour to the yeast water after it sat for a bit, then added the sugar, salt, and oil. After mixing that, I added the chocolate, mixed and added two whole eggs. Then I started adding the rest of the flour, about 1/2 c at a time, until I hit the 3c mark. It was still a little sticky at this point, so I added a few T more, until I could handle the dough. Kneaded the bread as much as I could, but not as much as usual. I put it in a loaf pan and let it rise in a warm oven until it had more or less doubled, then preheated the oven to 375 and baked it for about 25 minutes, although there is a small amount in the middle of the loaf that seems like it didn't cook completely through, and the top is rather dark, so maybe 350 for 30 minutes would have been better. Definitely would try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Physicser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Very bland. Maybe next time I will add some nuts and chips when the beeper goes off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
The idea of chocolate flavored bread is somewhat weird, but toasted with a smear of peanut butter makes this bread interesting. I had hoped it would be sweeter...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShirleyMay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Windermere, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This is an excellent bread. I followed the directions, except used a tablespoon of water instead of the egg yolk. Turned out light, sweet and chocolatey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
Crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dajana K.
Reviewed: May 13, 2007
The bread rised very well, however I had to put more flour. I used only one egg and added chocolate chips. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trencín, Trenciansky Kraj, Slovakia
Living In: Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Deliciously different! I added a little more sugar to mine and it still wasn't very sweet. Tasted like a homemade loaf of bread with a hint of cocoa as an after-taste. My 8yo loved it! Next time I might try adding chocolate chips to the mix for more of a sweet chocolate taste. Thanks for the yummy post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
One of my favourite recipes to bring to a potluck -- it's so unusual, and I always get raves. No one can believe it came out of a bread machine. I've made it several times, and it always comes out perfectly. Just be sure to cool the cocoa and boiling water before adding them to the machine, or the heat will kill the yeast. I will agree with other reviewers that you can't expect a brownie or a piece of cake when you eat this. It's less sweet, less dessert-like. It's especially great for when you want something special and different and interesting, but not sugary. In the words of one of my friends: "This doesn't know if it's bread or cake. I'm eating food with an identity disorder!" I love it for that, but apparently not everyone does. Definitely worth a try though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Sackville, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States