Brownie Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I followed the directions exactly. My bread turned out velvety. It is not a sweet bread, but it made great french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Good bread. As my husband noted, the texture is like a brownie, so that is likely where the name comes from. Does it taste like a brownie? Well, no, it's definitely bread with a bit of a chocolate taste, so if you are looking for a sweeter bread, you are going to have to make some changes or find another recipe. It is more like a brown bread, similar to a pumpernickel. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
It was not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Love this bread with a good cup of coffee. This bread is great with a little Nutella spread for a satisfying chocolate fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This bread was dry and didn't taste good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malinda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingbuddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
While the basic idea of the bread was good I made some of my own changes that I think added to the overall texture and taste. 1/4C of Cocoa and water, 2 1/2tsp Yeast, 1/2C sugar, 2/3C warm water, closer to 4 cups of flour, 1tbsp vanilla, one lunchable size chocolate pudding, 1tsp salt, 2tbsp of oil, and 1 egg. I placed in my bread machine according to directions and then put it on the DOUGH cycle. When completed I took the dough out, punched it down on a floured countertop (it was quite sticky), split it in half (makes 2 smaller loaves or one big loaf), placed in greased bread pans in a warm oven for 30 minutes. Warm oven up to 350 and cook for 25 minutes. I made this this morning and my mom and I have already eaten half a loaf because it is SO good. While it certainly does not taste like brownies, it was moist, filling, and has a delicious chocolaty after taste! It also makes the house smell amazing... I will certainly make this bread again with the changes as it will be AMAZING with a peanutbutter banana sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I don't use bread machines but used this as a hand made recipe. After the first rise, I rolled it out and spread it with 4 Tbsp of soft butter and then sprinkled it with sugar, (both white and brown), finely chopped walnut, and a little flour then rolled it and baked it. It made an amazing loaf of "swirl" bread. Next time I will leave out the nuts or put them in the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Kelso, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This bread was SOOOO GOOD. The only thing I did was to make it with all whole wheat flour and both whole eggs. The bread was a nice dense bread - but light at the same time (I'm not sure if that makes sense). It was versatile - I was expecting the chocolate to make it a bread only good for butter or jam... But my kids were dipping it in carrot and ginger soup... The chocolate is a nice balance - it's not overpowering - if you eat it alone the chocolate comes out nicely - but it's not so much (like I said) that you can't enjoy it with a cup of soup or for a sandwich. I really really liked this bread - my kids loved it too!!! It was gone in hours... I'm making it again - but lots of loaves that I'll freeze so we'll have it. But keep in mind like other reviewers mentioned. This is bread - it's not a brownie - it's not ooey gooey sticky sweet... It's a nice bread. If you want a dessert, make the brownies... If you want a nice bread - this will do perfectly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States