Brownie Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
It's the only biscotti my husband asks for! I omit the chocolate chips, use pecans, and dip them in melted Hershey candy bars when they are done and cold. I also gave some to friends in gift baskets at Christmas. Everyone loved them. I have never had a single problem with crumbling or any of the other problems people have had. I shape them on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper (wet your hands so it doesn't stick!) then bake. When it's time to cut you can lift the whole thing off by holding the paper. I never let it cool more than 10 minutes before cutting. I use my very sharp bread knife to gently saw through the biscotti. When it's cut I lift the pieces off with a spatula and put them back on the cookie sheet (without the paper) for the second bake. It works for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
273 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
Excellent flavor, however my biscottis burned a little in the second baking. I found in a cookbook to lower the temp of the oven the second time around to 250. I tried it again and they turned out perfect. We even ate the semi-burnt ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Great biscotti recipe! Very chocolately and very good! I left out the nuts and next time I might bake them for 20 minutes vs. 25. They didn't crumble with I cut into them and they looked great drizzled with melted white chocolate. Perfect treat to go with coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
Just one word.....fabulous! I made these yesterday...actually...two batches of them. I took the advice of others and did several things. I added additional coco powder and a pinch of salt as that definitely does bring out the chocolate flavor. Also....I only let then cool for 20 miniutes instead of the recommended 30 minutes and....they cut perfectly. I returned them to the oven after adding just a touch of sugar for only 5 minutes on each side as others also suggested and they were perfect! My mom raved over them...brought her some last night and again this morning :) My husband brought them to work this morning and I am just waiting to hear what everyone though but I am sure....they will definitely be a winner!!! I know that I will be using this one again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
These biscotti's are AMAZING!!! I noticed some of the reviewers had problems with crumbling, so I baked the first time only until firm. I let them cool and no problems cutting them! I cooked them on a silpat too. Great for baking...nothing sticks. These are going to be made over and over!! Thanks Linda!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
You have to remember that these are biscotti, not gooey chocolate cookies or brownies, and they will not be as sweet or soft as cookies or brownies. They're easy to make, shape and cut, and have an understated chocolate taste. I thought the egg wash gave the tops a nice smooth, shiny appearance and would not leave it off. However, at least for my oven, the timing is off, and on the second baking the bottoms were starting to burn after only 10 minutes. Perhaps the second baking requires a lower temperature to harden the biscotti without burning them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
Thank you very much for this recipe!! It is truly the best chocolate biscotti recipe I've tried. What a great chocolate flavor the chocolate chips added! I followed your instructions and never broke a single slice. Try to start cutting with a sarrated knife on one end of the biscotti and slice to the opposite end slowly for best results. I am making more tomorrow to take to a church dinner on Sunday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
The dough was a little sticky so have some extra flour on hand for your hands and board. I would bake it a little less next time as well. The recipe was really good. I drizzeled a little extra melted chocolate on top. I broght the cookies to a wedding shower brunch and received wonderful complements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Excellent recipe! Found that the cookies cut much better with a sharp butcher's knife. The nuts kept sticking to my serated knives (and I tried several) which caused the cookie to break. The sharp butcher's knife cut them easily and cleanly making a much nicer looking cookie. Taste is great, Too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I've been making these frequently over the past couple years and when you follow the recipe exactly, the biscotti are pretty good, but there are some changes I have learned that really improve them. First, don't be afraid to add a little more cocoa. Second, use about 1/8-1/4 tsp salt to taste. Third, experiment with your extracts and oils. Try using 3/4 tsp vanilla and 1/4 tsp almond extracts. Other flavor variations with oil of Anise, anise seed or fresh tarragon all compliment the chocolate really well and are delicious with coffee or tea. Definitely gives more dimension to the biscotti (although, admittedly, anise is not for everyone). Miniature chocolate chips are not a must, and in fact, we prefer using regular-sized chocolate chips. Cooking time: everyone's oven is a little different, but I usually bake for 20 min at 375F. I let them cool for 10 min before I cut them (waiting the full 30 min seems to increase the crumbling problem) then reduce the heat to 350F. Bake them for 10 min, flip to the other side and bake for 10 min more. For a holiday treat, drizzle with crushed peppermint and white bakers chocolate or almond bark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley c.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States