Brownie Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
These were so good! Everyone loved them. The cook times were a tiny bit off for me, but it worked out ok. I actually didn't care for these warm right out of the oven (not that biscotti is supposed to be eaten warm, but my I like regular recipe biscotti while still hot). Once they were cooled, they were bomb! Yum! Makes a small batch, not NEAR enough for my chocoholic hubby. Next time I'll double or triple it for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Excellent recipe. I omit the nuts and they turn out wonderfully. In all of the ovens I've used, the proscribed cooking time is far to long--check on them often as they cook. Burnt bottoms can be hard to see on chocolate cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Juniper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Very good, very easy, too. It didn't crumble when I cut it (be sure you cut it slowly) and worked beautifully. I used 1C all purpose flour and 3/4C whole wheat. My only complaint is that the recipe has you make two 9" long logs then cut them into 1" slices. This gives you 18 biscotti, not 30 like the recipe says it makes, making the nutritional information and yield misleading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I've been making these frequently over the past couple years and when you follow the recipe exactly, the biscotti are pretty good, but there are some changes I have learned that really improve them. First, don't be afraid to add a little more cocoa. Second, use about 1/8-1/4 tsp salt to taste. Third, experiment with your extracts and oils. Try using 3/4 tsp vanilla and 1/4 tsp almond extracts. Other flavor variations with oil of Anise, anise seed or fresh tarragon all compliment the chocolate really well and are delicious with coffee or tea. Definitely gives more dimension to the biscotti (although, admittedly, anise is not for everyone). Miniature chocolate chips are not a must, and in fact, we prefer using regular-sized chocolate chips. Cooking time: everyone's oven is a little different, but I usually bake for 20 min at 375F. I let them cool for 10 min before I cut them (waiting the full 30 min seems to increase the crumbling problem) then reduce the heat to 350F. Bake them for 10 min, flip to the other side and bake for 10 min more. For a holiday treat, drizzle with crushed peppermint and white bakers chocolate or almond bark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley c.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
These are definitely easy to make. Substituted almonds for the walnuts and dried cranberries for the chocolate chips. Be careful not to bake to long the second time because they will burn, 10 minutes per side is sufficient. Cutting with a good serated bread knife keeps them from crumbling and I only let them sit 15 minutes before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lilbambella
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Perfect for getting a good chocolate fix :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Really yummy if you're a chocohalic!! Not my favorite biscotti - but it is what it says "brownie" biscotti - don't know why I expected anything different? If you love brownies - you will love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Love these. They're so crunchy and great with a hot drink! A bit time consuming with the baking part, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marathon, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I consider myself to be an expert baker. I followed the recipe's directions exactly. After the first bake, the bread completely crumbled as I tried to cut it. I tried various knives to make sure it wasn't the knife, too. A COMPLETE disaster. Time to figure out a plan B for teacher's gifts! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stewart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbiana, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Magpie
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
really good but way smaller than a normal biscotti
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States