Brownie Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
We made these using a brownie mix, then followed directions to bake. Only gave 4 stars because we didn't make the brownies using the recipe. Turned out great - making again to put into a nice container for a gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I'm a doctor and am always looking for healthy desserts. I really like this recipe, it's definitely healthier than the brownies I grew up on and still love. I cut down on the sugar, used canola oil instead of butter, and used egg beaters and it worked out great. I will continue experimenting with decreasing the oil and sugar. I'll keep you posted on how my future changes work out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This is a great recipe but I would like to know how to give it more chocolately flavor. I followed the recipe exactly but I would like more of a chocolate flavor. Maybe if I dipped them in melted bittersweet chocolate next time. I guess the name made me think it would taste more like a brownie, but this tasted like a cookie with some chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
These turned out fantastic with great flavor! I added a half of a cup of cocoa instead of a third, a little salt, and did not use walnuts. I cut them while still warm (about ten minutes after the first bake), then baked them at 300 degrees to keep them from burning and drizzled with white chocolate. Thanks for a great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
These were so good! Everyone loved them. The cook times were a tiny bit off for me, but it worked out ok. I actually didn't care for these warm right out of the oven (not that biscotti is supposed to be eaten warm, but my I like regular recipe biscotti while still hot). Once they were cooled, they were bomb! Yum! Makes a small batch, not NEAR enough for my chocoholic hubby. Next time I'll double or triple it for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Excellent recipe. I omit the nuts and they turn out wonderfully. In all of the ovens I've used, the proscribed cooking time is far to long--check on them often as they cook. Burnt bottoms can be hard to see on chocolate cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Juniper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Very good, very easy, too. It didn't crumble when I cut it (be sure you cut it slowly) and worked beautifully. I used 1C all purpose flour and 3/4C whole wheat. My only complaint is that the recipe has you make two 9" long logs then cut them into 1" slices. This gives you 18 biscotti, not 30 like the recipe says it makes, making the nutritional information and yield misleading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I've been making these frequently over the past couple years and when you follow the recipe exactly, the biscotti are pretty good, but there are some changes I have learned that really improve them. First, don't be afraid to add a little more cocoa. Second, use about 1/8-1/4 tsp salt to taste. Third, experiment with your extracts and oils. Try using 3/4 tsp vanilla and 1/4 tsp almond extracts. Other flavor variations with oil of Anise, anise seed or fresh tarragon all compliment the chocolate really well and are delicious with coffee or tea. Definitely gives more dimension to the biscotti (although, admittedly, anise is not for everyone). Miniature chocolate chips are not a must, and in fact, we prefer using regular-sized chocolate chips. Cooking time: everyone's oven is a little different, but I usually bake for 20 min at 375F. I let them cool for 10 min before I cut them (waiting the full 30 min seems to increase the crumbling problem) then reduce the heat to 350F. Bake them for 10 min, flip to the other side and bake for 10 min more. For a holiday treat, drizzle with crushed peppermint and white bakers chocolate or almond bark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley c.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
These are definitely easy to make. Substituted almonds for the walnuts and dried cranberries for the chocolate chips. Be careful not to bake to long the second time because they will burn, 10 minutes per side is sufficient. Cutting with a good serated bread knife keeps them from crumbling and I only let them sit 15 minutes before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lilbambella
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Perfect for getting a good chocolate fix :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 461) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States