Brownie Batter + Cupcake = The SECOND BEST Cupcake. Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Koriekiss
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I have made these twice and absolutely love them. I put the brownie mix in my piping bag with a large tip, than filled the cupcake paper up half way with the cake batter. Inserted the tip of my piping bag into each cupcake and squished me out some brownie mix into the middle of each one. Frosted with store bought chocolate frosting, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
335 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I prepared these as directed and frosted them with a deep, rich chocolate frosting I thought was a great match, "One Bowl Buttercream Frosting," also from this site. There's not much more I can add to nearly 100 fantastic reviews for these cupcakes about preparation or taste. What I *would" like to add, however, is that what this recipe is all about, what lovestohost has singlehandedly accomplished with her successful experiments, (I refer also to her other infamous cupcake and cake recipes) is to make baking fun and to create whimsical treats. More than the finished product it's about the experience and the sheer joy you get from making these and her other recipes. Offhand, I can think of no other recipe with that distinction that is also so quick, easy, and that works for every baker, novice or skilled. These ARE a treat - for those baking them, for those who make these as a baking project with children, as well as for everybody eating them. Great recipe(s) lovestohost. It was a fun baking experience with a delightful result and I admire your creativity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
325 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Yummy! These are pretty quick and cheap to make and take heavenly! First time made according to the directions and the second time I chilled the brownie batter before scooping it into cupcaking batter and this yielded yummy gooey centers. I love these cupcakes, I don't even bother to frost. 5-star with the chilling of the brownie batter and the addition of some extra vanilla to the cake batter. start check them at 15 min baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
These are terrific! I made them with red velvet cake mix and frosted them with homemade cream cheese frosting. Sooo good. They were fun to make and fun to eat. Dee-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evian257

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This recipe sounded great and with all the good reviews I thought I would try it. Afer cooking them for an hour I finally gave up cooking them. The cake batter was so over done while the brownie batter fully cooked. I opened the cupcake and the brownie was totally raw. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Brownies are my favorite dessert so I couldn't wait to try this recipe! I used a vanilla cake mix and the Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting as recommended by others-these cupcakes are exceptionally good! I didn't want the brownie to stick to the bottom as someone mentioned, so I put a dollop of cake mix on the bottom, then a tablespoon of brownie batter followed by another dollop of cake mix-maybe it was just me, but it seemed a little time consuming. Also I used a gas oven and maybe the cupcakes baked quicker, but my brownie baked along with the cupcake so there was no 'gooey brownie' in the center. However, I have not stopped eating them because they are so good! I used aluminum liners and my cupcakes did not stick and the peanut butter frosting is the best! I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
LTH, you've done it again! These rock! I frosted some with chocolate frosting, some with peanut butter frosting (Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting from this site), and some I swirled with both kinds. Very, very good. I love the little layer of gooey goodness in there. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
These turned out excellent, I used orange cake mix over chocolate-lovers brownie mix. Frosted them with a simple white frosting and they were very well received. I only broke my diet enough for one small bite (how's that for will-power), but very yummy ideed. Thanks LoveToHost
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laughingmagpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
These were amazing! I followed another reviewer's suggestion and tried to pipe the brownie batter into the middle of the cake batter. It was super messy because the brownie batter was thin, but I think it helped because the cupcakes didn't stick to the wrapper like other people mentioned. I couldn't even wait for frosting and it was a perfectly moist cupcake with gooey brownie in the middle. Definitely worth the mess! Thanks for the post!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Well....hats off to LTH for an EXCEPTIONAL Recipe! One unbelievable Cuppie! I used a yellow cake mix and the "Baker's One Bowl Brownie" recipe from this site....mmm...mmm...mmmm! I took the suggestion of one reviewer who said she chilled the brownie batter - makes all the difference in the world! You get the ooey-gooey "almost" cooked through batter inside! I also took the suggestion of placing a couple spoonfuls of batter in the bottom of each cupcake liner FIRST (made easier by placing batter in a measuring cup, pours like a dream), THEN placing a scoop of chilled brownie batter and then pouring batter over top to 2/3rd's full...Baked for 20 minutes at 375F on CONVECTION....came out PERFECT! Hats off to the Creator! You have created a cupcake monster in me now! LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Best Mug Cake (Paleo)

See what makes this chocolate mug cake paleo-friendlier.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States