Browned Butter Vegetables with Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Wilemon
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
If you perfer your vegetables mostly tender, cook them briefly first in about an inch of water,(about 1/2 way cooked) then drain and add to browned butter mixture, once the wine is added the butter will slow greatly with browning, watch closely for first signs of browning, wait for nutty aroma, then add wine, then vegetables and allow to simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
We loved this and I even forgot the wine! I like the complexity of flavors and textures that really take vegetables beyond ho-hum. The combination of vegetables, the browned butter and toasted almonds gave these vegetables character, not to mention color and eye appeal. I added the toasted almonds at the end, however, to retain their crunch. This is not your forgettable, lowly vegetable on the dinner plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This is GREAT!!! The only reason I'm not giving it a 5 is b/c all the butter isn't necessary. I used 3T. and even that I thought was too much. To cut some cals I think I'm going to sautee in UnChix broth. I'll finish w/1 T. of browned butter. Totally forgot to add the wine, but it was great w/o. I added the onions, garlic and almonds at the same time so they would sweeten and tenderize as well. Used red onion for added sweetness. This time I only used broccoli, but I see this method arising time and time again w/different vegetable combos!!! Great for a vegetarian diet if u can cut some of the fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shrinking Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I used less butter, toasted almond slivers first, browned the butter, red onion, green beans, red bell pepper, Zucchini, and yellow squash, added the garlic powder, salt and pepper and the toasted almonds; then added the wine towards the end. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Used yellow & purple cauliflower along with the broccoli and red onion. Threw in mushroom slices - people very impressed by festive autumn colors. Used 25% less butter than it called for - it was sufficient. Tasted great! - Highly recommended as an easy to make, unique and impressive side dish. Used it along with Prinme Rib.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Loved the combination of flavors in this side dish! Before making this dish I boiled a pot of water, added the broccoli and cauliflower and let it cook for a minute, drained, and set aside. I also toasted some almonds. I used only a 1/4 cup butter because I thought a 1/2 cup was a bit too much. In the skillet with butter, I added a piece of garlic, chopped, then the red bell peppers, wine, broccoli and cauliflower. I stirred to combined on medium low heat. I seasoned with salt and black pepper, to taste. Lastly, I added the toasted almonds over everything. The browned butter with almonds gave this a nutty flavor to these vegetables. I loved the tenderly crunch from the red bell peppers and its sweetness. The bright red color of the red bell peppers looked so pretty in this dish. I liked the aroma of the butter with wine and garlic. The almonds gave this a nice texture with a nutty crunch. I served alongside with incredible cheesey turkey meatloaf and bacon rosemary mashed potatoes, from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This was amazing! So easy and great flavors. I make a different vegetable dish each week for a family dinner, and this is the first one that my brother asked when I would make it again. A few notes: - I only used 1/4 cup butter - instead of the garlic salt & garlic pepper (don't have any of that), I used 1/2 tsp VegeSal (you could just use salt), 1/2 tsp pepper, and 1/2 tsp minced garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
This was good, and even though I shudder at the amount of butter in it, I went willingly! :-) I used garlic powder rather than garlic salt, but did sprinkle some garlic salt on the veggies toward the end. Wasn't familiar with garlic pepper, so just added fresh ground black pepper. Needed to use up some pinot grigio wine and the veggies I had on hand (yellow summer squash, zucchini, sweet potato, broccoli, onion; the broccoli & sweet potato were especially good). Per review by recipe submitter, Wilemon, I did steam the veggies for about five mins before adding to skillet. Thank you, Wilemon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
this was DELICIOUS!!!!! I followed this recipe exactly as it is, and it was just so good. I love the almond taste in the vegies.. mmmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This was a wonderful side dish! I used broccoli & little button mushrooms; I made more butter than called for; I did not use onions because my daughter & grandson were eating w/ us & neither of them likes onions, so I subbed onion powder for flavor instead. What they don't know won't hurt them. ;o) I didn't have fresh red peppers so I used jarred roasted red pepper instead. The wine I used was a chardonnay. We will be having this over & over again....thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

How to Roast Winter Vegetables

Learn how to roast seasoned root vegetables to bring out their earthy flavors.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States